Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: BEWARE

Banned
    dreaming of a simple life. Living off the grid!
    I decided to put this in the main section because it is quilting related and everyone needs to read this.

I like baked potato bags. I have made them in the past. I had scraps of fabric that I loved not enough to really do anything with so I decided to make a baked potato bag. I used 100% thread to piece it, 100% cotton batting and the same thread to quilt it. Yes the fabric was 100% cotton too is there any other kind??? I popped my potato in the bag and put it in the microwave. I decided to stay in the kitchen and after about 2 minutes I smelled something. I looked in the microwave and my cute potato bag was on fire, not smoldering but on fire. I was a chef kitchen fires don't bother me. I pulled out the bag and tossed it in the sink as the bag burned I poured water on it. All my work and it went up in smoke. I will NEVER, EVER, EVER use a baked potato bag again. And you shouldn't either!!!!!!!

Blog Entries
    Thanks for the warning. Be safe everyone.

Murray, Ky. Looking for a nice cushy pillow to rest my head on!
    Blog Entries
    Oh my!!!!! That is scarry. I have never used them and now I guess I will never will. Thank you for the heads up.

Thanks for the warning Peach. I have never tried one. I didn't really see the need in the first place. That and I am not a huge baked potato fan.

I had never heard of a potatoe bag. What is the purpose?

what is a baked potato bag? never heard of one, I don't get out much...

Wow, have one as it was a gift from Vermont but never used it.
    Been using it as a potholder thing when my others weren't reachable. thanks for the warning!