Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Boo Hoo.. My GO just gave up on me.. Boo Hoo.... >

Boo Hoo.. My GO just gave up on me.. Boo Hoo....

Boo Hoo.. My GO just gave up on me.. Boo Hoo....

Old 02-14-2012, 08:06 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
luvTooQuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: A Hop from Heaven, a Skip from Sanity and a Jump from the Good Life....
Posts: 6,664
Default Boo Hoo.. My GO just gave up on me.. Boo Hoo....

I LOVE LOVE LOVE my Go and today I was going to cut 2x2 scrappy sqs and I cannot turn the handle without brute force-BOO HOO... believe me I didnt force it, I knew id probably break the thing in half..
So now I have to find something else to do while I wait till morning to contact Accuquilt on what I can do.... I do hope they can help, otherwise Im off to buy another one.. Hmmmm maybe a studio !!!!!! Every cloud has a silver lining..
luvTooQuilt is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 07:34 AM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
mighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upland CA
Posts: 18,376
Default

I love my go and stuido cutters, hope you can get this fixed!!!
mighty is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 08:19 AM
  #3  
Super Member
 
retrogirl02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: IN
Posts: 1,744
Default

Sadly, experienced the very same thing. company sent a replacement handle, though I explained that my husband said it was more likely gear related. He was right....and they wanted me to pay to ship it fully open with a long die stuck in it.

We tried everything to remove the die to lower the shipping costs. At first, we were worried about not being too harsh with it (so they could see what had gone wrong) but eventually, we spent days yanking on that thing.

I would think by now, they'd offer to replace through JoAnns since they're everywhere in the US to make this easier for customers. I was unwilling to pay to ship because there was no promise to fix/replace.

When we finally got it open, the tiny gears were completely stripped & not from misuse, I assure you-----dad worked in metal business for decades, looked at it and said the gears hadn't been heated properly, likely that the whole batch was bad.

I do hope you have better luck than I did.
retrogirl02 is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 08:31 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 7,548
Default

Originally Posted by retrogirl02 View Post
dad worked in metal business for decades, looked at it and said the gears hadn't been heated properly, likely that the whole batch was bad.
Oh dear. So, I'm gathering the gears are made of steel and weren't put through that second stage of heating to make them less brittle? Is that what your dad said? Why am I not surprised, mine says "Made in China".

How long ago did you get your cutter, and what did Accuquilt do about the gears? Did you get a new one?
Peckish is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 08:32 AM
  #5  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
luvTooQuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: A Hop from Heaven, a Skip from Sanity and a Jump from the Good Life....
Posts: 6,664
Default

No my die wasnt stuck.. It just made a horrible noise then froze just as I was going to crank the die thru.. I called Accuquilt.. $50 to fix- no guarantee- and shipping to and from with insurance.. hmmmm, $100 bucks maybe total.. plus be with out a GO for about a month... Well for another 100 bucks I can get a new one with a year warranty OR just get the Studio, for which I have absolutely no room for but it has a lifetime guarantee.. hmmm something to ponder.. Joannes has them for $199.99 ... I just may go that route.. I cant see it being fixed,

Originally Posted by retrogirl02 View Post
Sadly, experienced the very same thing. company sent a replacement handle, though I explained that my husband said it was more likely gear related. He was right....and they wanted me to pay to ship it fully open with a long die stuck in it.

We tried everything to remove the die to lower the shipping costs. At first, we were worried about not being too harsh with it (so they could see what had gone wrong) but eventually, we spent days yanking on that thing.

I would think by now, they'd offer to replace through JoAnns since they're everywhere in the US to make this easier for customers. I was unwilling to pay to ship because there was no promise to fix/replace.

When we finally got it open, the tiny gears were completely stripped & not from misuse, I assure you-----dad worked in metal business for decades, looked at it and said the gears hadn't been heated properly, likely that the whole batch was bad.

I do hope you have better luck than I did.
luvTooQuilt is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:13 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
AliKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,943
Default

Thanks for letting us know. Hmmm. I wonder if the models they use in the LQS's, being bigger, are stronger???? Hmmm.

Not that I glad ... but it does make my Alto's AccuQuilt2 look even more appealing and cost effective.

ali
AliKat is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:53 AM
  #7  
Power Poster
 
BellaBoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Front row
Posts: 14,648
Default

Mine is five year old too. I haven't babied it and used it to the max and pushed it's limits many times so if it does give up I know I have gotten my money's worth out of it.
BellaBoo is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 10:14 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 174
Default

Well if you have a chance to upgrade I would encourage you to go with the Studio. It is truly a workhorse and has saved me so much time.
Shankquilt is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 01:11 PM
  #9  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
luvTooQuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: A Hop from Heaven, a Skip from Sanity and a Jump from the Good Life....
Posts: 6,664
Default

Ive had for about 4-5 years now.. I used it almost every day, I woudn't abuse and push it to its limits but it was used quite a bit for long periods of time... Hubby sys that even if I get a new one send the old one off.. For a $100 bucks its worth the gamble..

Men !!!!

for a hundred bucks I can buy A LOT OF FABRICS !!!!!


Originally Posted by Peckish View Post
Oh dear. So, I'm gathering the gears are made of steel and weren't put through that second stage of heating to make them less brittle? Is that what your dad said? Why am I not surprised, mine says "Made in China".

How long ago did you get your cutter, and what did Accuquilt do about the gears? Did you get a new one?
luvTooQuilt is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 01:37 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
lonestardreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 412
Default

I sure hope you get things worked out. I don't use mine very much but I love it when I do. Good luck-
lonestardreams is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Prissnboot
Pictures
21
10-10-2014 11:58 AM
TerryQuilter
Pictures
170
11-05-2012 07:37 AM
Stitch124
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
4
04-16-2012 11:30 AM
luvTooQuilt
Main
19
02-21-2012 09:44 PM
mrs theo
Main
4
01-08-2010 07:11 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.