Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Bother Innovis 4000D >

Bother Innovis 4000D

Bother Innovis 4000D

Old 05-22-2011, 04:59 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
roseee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St Louis, Missouri
Posts: 58
Default

I have a Bother Innovis 4000D and am wondering if anyone is having the same problem as me with the embroidery. I was embroidering some beach towels and after doing a couple of the towels, and, it does finish the whole project very well, but after it stops and I take the project out of the machine I get a message to check the upper thread. If this doesn't correct the situation, I have to check for lint etc. and then it works again. Finally, after a few more towels nothing worked except changing the bobbin case and then it worked fine. Is this a normal situation with the bobbin case and re-threading? I have only had this machine for less than a year. It embroiders very nice, but this stopping and re-threading and changing bobbin cases is very frustrating. Is anyone else having this problem or is there just something wrong with my machine and/or bobbin case??? I need to go to the dealer and order a new bobbin case, but I just didn't know if this was an ongoing problem. Thanks for any information anyone has to give me in this regard. Rose in St. Louis
roseee is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 05:21 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
MaryStoaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 3,918
Default

Have you changed the needle recently? My machine (a Babylock) usually needs the needle changed after only a couple of items.
MaryStoaks is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 06:35 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
roseee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St Louis, Missouri
Posts: 58
Default

Originally Posted by MaryStoaks
Have you changed the needle recently? My machine (a Babylock) usually needs the needle changed after only a couple of items.
I change the needle often, but you are right that can be a problem, but that is not the case here, I think it is just a bad bobbin case and I just was wondering if anyone else had this problem.
roseee is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 06:37 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Treasureit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 2,865
Default

I don't have your machine, but I was told that lint can confuse the computers and you can get random messages. My upper thread one come on a lot, so I know it is time for a cleaning.
Treasureit is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 07:28 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
featherweight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Westminster, Co
Posts: 2,675
Default

I have this machine. I have over 9 million stuitches on it and I have never had this problem. I think I would have it checked or get a new bobbin case. If you broke a needle in it it could have damaged the case.
featherweight is offline  
Old 05-23-2011, 04:51 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
tooMuchFabric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 1,243
Default

My question would be, Are you using a 'topping' over your stitch area, as well as the stabilizer under the fabric?
Using a topping layer can cut down on all sorts of problems, with the stitchout and with the machine itself.
I never stitch anything at all without a topping layer.
.
tooMuchFabric is offline  
Old 05-23-2011, 11:13 AM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
roseee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St Louis, Missouri
Posts: 58
Default

Originally Posted by tooMuchFabric
My question would be, Are you using a 'topping' over your stitch area, as well as the stabilizer under the fabric?
Using a topping layer can cut down on all sorts of problems, with the stitchout and with the machine itself.
I never stitch anything at all without a topping layer.
.
Yes, I do use a topping layer and stabilizer. I have changed needles and delint it every time I embroider. I am assuming it is the bobbin case and will go purchase a new one. It just seems to work fine and then it doesn't and then it does. If I am not doing a big project it does fine. Just when I am doing more than one project is when this happens. Just wondering if anyone else had this problem. Thanks for the info
roseee is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
carol45
Main
1
01-24-2013 07:20 PM
carol45
Main
10
07-06-2011 12:36 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.