Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: brother pc 8500

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    289
    I have a Brother PC 8500 that I can not get to FMQ. It is a wonderful machine and I bought it used for a great price. Everthing else works like a dream, even the embroidery, but everytime I try FM it breaks a needle. I have done FMQ with other machines, I have changed the needle, lowered the feed dogs, tried different threads and bobbins, cleaned it and even manually moved the needle and it looks like it is fine. BUT when I start sewing within two or three stitches the needle breaks EVERY time. Is there anything else I could try or just take it to a repair shop?

  2. #2
    reneebobby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    3,907
    Did you move the needle position? I've broken needles because i forgot.

  3. #3
    Moderator kathy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    on the Texas Coast
    Posts
    4,050
    what foot are you using?

  4. #4
    Senior Member crashnquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, Missouri
    Posts
    607
    have you looked on the brother website to see if you can download the manual?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    289
    I have done all of the above and am using the embroidery foot. Any other ideas?

  6. #6
    luvmy2bts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    304
    I would use a darning foot or a freemotion quilting foot. I think the foot is where your problem is.

    Debbie KS

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    289
    The embroidery foot is the same as a free motion foot on my machine.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11
    The brother 8500 does not do free motion. It was one of the problems with this machine from the time it came out. From what I remember it had a special roller that feed thread and the thread couldn't be delivered fast enough for free motion.

    Brother corrected the problem in their newer machines , but the Brother 8500 will always have this problem.

    I will try to do more research on this if you would like.

    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news :cry:

    Margaret

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    289
    Quote Originally Posted by Margaret35
    The brother 8500 does not do free motion. It was one of the problems with this machine from the time it came out. From what I remember it had a special roller that feed thread and the thread couldn't be delivered fast enough for free motion.

    Brother corrected the problem in their newer machines , but the Brother 8500 will always have this problem.

    I will try to do more research on this if you would like.

    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news :cry:

    Margaret
    Don't be sorry, I'm just glad to know it's not me. But in the user manual it tells you how to free motion quilt. I guess that's what had me stumped. I do have another machine that I can use, this one is just my favorite.

    I would appreciated any information you can give me on this. I may have to see if I can upgrade?

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11
    I have been searching on the internet for discussions on this problem. I have been on sewing and embroidery boards for many years and I remember reading about the problem a long time ago. There isn't much info about it on the internet anymore.

    If your brother dealer has been selling brother machines for a long time, he might remember the problem. I don't think this machine can be upgraded to allow it to do free motion better.

    Margaret

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    289
    Thanks, at least I won't keep trying............ and I know it's not the machine because it is wonderful. I just use my other one for free motion quilting. I am soooooooooooooo glad I didn't sell it!

  12. #12
    Super Member joeyoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    2,202
    Quote Originally Posted by Angie
    I have done all of the above and am using the embroidery foot. Any other ideas?
    I think your problem is probably the foot you are using. You need to use a darning foot or FMQ foot. I know the sell them separate and Bablylock and Brother are interchangable. I have owned both. I now own a Babylock. As a matter of fact PM me your address. I have an extra Darning Foot I will give you.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Angie
    I have a Brother PC 8500 that I can not get to FMQ. It is a wonderful machine and I bought it used for a great price. Everthing else works like a dream, even the embroidery, but everytime I try FM it breaks a needle. I have done FMQ with other machines, I have changed the needle, lowered the feed dogs, tried different threads and bobbins, cleaned it and even manually moved the needle and it looks like it is fine. BUT when I start sewing within two or three stitches the needle breaks EVERY time. Is there anything else I could try or just take it to a repair shop?
    i have the sister machine to the 8500. i have a babylock esante. i use the decorative stitch that resembles hand stitching. my length is 4.0 and width is 3.5. it usually does the trick. there are times i use the center stitch and 4.0 as stitch length. hope this will help.

    tea

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    289
    Quote Originally Posted by quiltbible
    Quote Originally Posted by Angie
    I have a Brother PC 8500 that I can not get to FMQ. It is a wonderful machine and I bought it used for a great price. Everthing else works like a dream, even the embroidery, but everytime I try FM it breaks a needle. I have done FMQ with other machines, I have changed the needle, lowered the feed dogs, tried different threads and bobbins, cleaned it and even manually moved the needle and it looks like it is fine. BUT when I start sewing within two or three stitches the needle breaks EVERY time. Is there anything else I could try or just take it to a repair shop?
    i have the sister machine to the 8500. i have a babylock esante. i use the decorative stitch that resembles hand stitching. my length is 4.0 and width is 3.5. it usually does the trick. there are times i use the center stitch and 4.0 as stitch length. hope this will help.

    Thank you and it does help.
    tea

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    42
    no problem. glad i was able to help as others here have help me.

    tea :D

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    42
    angie, forgot to mention you will need to purchase a fm foot. the embroidery foot that comes with machine will cause skipped stitches and thread breakages. i purchased mines online under $20.00 usd. hope this will help you.

    tea

  17. #17
    Super Member butterflywing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    currently central new jersey
    Posts
    8,700
    almost all machine companies have their own blogsites. have you checked to see if brother has one? if they do, log in and ask. you'll get more information than you know what to do with. in fact, everyone should join a forum for each machine they own. you never know when you'll need help in the middle of the night.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3
    Did you resolve this problem? I took my machine in for cleaning and adjustment thinking it was broken and was told that I cannot use the embroidery foot for free motion. there is a quilting foot with spring on it for free motion. I have not found it yet so just wondering if you were able to do free motion with your 8500 yet? ps I love the machine for embroidery and there is nothing wrong with it so I can't see any reason to upgrade.

  19. #19
    Super Member Mitch's mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,437
    I have the Brother PC 6500. It won't free motion for the same reason as the 8500 - thread delivery. Not a big deal to me as I use it mainly for embroidery and never intended to use it for FMQ.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.