Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Calling all Juki Walking Foot Users -- Seam Guide Help Please? >

Calling all Juki Walking Foot Users -- Seam Guide Help Please?

Calling all Juki Walking Foot Users -- Seam Guide Help Please?

Old 10-04-2016, 05:31 PM

Default Calling all Juki Walking Foot Users -- Seam Guide Help Please?

So I'm trying to get started quilting my big quilt sandwich on my new Juki (TL2000) using 1/2" (+/-) echo straight lines. But I see that's gonna be pretty hard for me, since the walking foot that comes with the machine doesn't have a seam guide option, and I'm not good at eye-balling it! I tried to make do by attaching another guide (from my Janome walking foot), but there's no workable way to attach it to this foot, even if I try to MacGyver it on with tape etc. Does anyone have a workaround?
Old 10-05-2016, 12:18 AM

You could "mark" your quilt lines with painters tape.

When I am sewing the edge (binding, bags, etc) with a different seam allowance than what is marked on the plate, I put a command strip on the plate where I want. It helps keep me consistent.
Old 10-05-2016, 03:10 AM

Tape is your best bet to mark that small an increment. I did that once and only once. All the turning at the end of the row drove me nuts. But the effect is beautiful. The good thing is tape is available in all widths.
Old 10-05-2016, 04:33 AM

Originally Posted by McGargantuette View Post
So I'm trying to get started quilting my big quilt sandwich on my new Juki (TL2000) using 1/2" (+/-) echo straight lines. But I see that's gonna be pretty hard for me, since the walking foot that comes with the machine doesn't have a seam guide option, and I'm not good at eye-balling it! I tried to make do by attaching another guide (from my Janome walking foot), but there's no workable way to attach it to this foot, even if I try to MacGyver it on with tape etc. Does anyone have a workaround?