Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Can someone check my math?

I'm fairly new to quilting and doing a BOM with a LQS in my area. I should know better than to trust the cutting and measuring instructions by now. They haven't been right yet. But here goes...

If I want a 4 1/8 square block made from 4 quarter sqare triangles how big should the squares the QST's come from be? My instructions told me to cut 4 QST from 4 3/4 inch squares and sew them together. I'm supposed to get a 4 1/8 inch block from that? I only get a 4 inch block. What am I doing wrong?

you need 7/8 and it will finish to 1/2

4 7/8 will make it 4 and 1/2
    I hope that made since to you

Are you making your seams a scant quarter inch? That could make the difference of an eighth inch...and are you pressing well?

when I started quilting and doing 1/2 Tringles the 7/8 was hard for me so i would go to the next one up and then trim them down

Power Poster
    Are you aiming for a 4-1/8 inch size finished or unfinished size block/unit?

(That does seem like an odd dimension for a unit)

I measured the seam, it is a scant 1/4 inch, and I did press it well. I would be less concerned if this only happened to one of the blocks but ALL 4 came out to the exact same measurement of 4 inches. If nothing else, I'm consistent.

My inclination is to cut down as well and I think this is another of this person's poor directions. For a nine-patch block she had us cut 4 inch blocks and told us the final block would make a 12.5 inch square (really? She's been doing some fuzzy math). I really hate it when someone is obviously using a computer program to make up these things but doesn't take the time (or knows less than I do and this started out being my first quilt) to get it right. Frustrating.