Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Can you answer some questions about scrappy quilts? >

Can you answer some questions about scrappy quilts?

Can you answer some questions about scrappy quilts?

Old 06-01-2011, 02:35 PM

I am looking for advice, but you need to know a bit of the history here. I made my first scrappy quilt from scraps I got in a grab bag at my guild to make a charity quilt. Thanks to a lot of help from folks here, I ended up with a pretty nifty quilt.

I am fairly new to quilting and send pictures of my quilts to my friends..for them to admire. I have told them I would make quilts for them if they wanted and if they saw one they particularly liked. One of my friends in Oklahoma fell for this scrappy quilt and wants to buy fabric so I can make her one. I am quite happy to do this, and would even use my scraps, but she wants to really be involved and wants to select the fabric.

Sooo...she has been looking at fabric, and today she emailed me these questions. I am too new to know the answers.

1. Should the fabric in a scrappy quilt be somewhat color coordinated?
2. Should she just pick fabrics she likes?
3. Would a black or mostly black border be a good or bad idea?
4. Should there be a balance between bright fabrics and pastels?

I told her I was pretty sure that anything goes in a scrappy quilt, but I would ask my experts.

Are there any hints you can give me about selecting fabric for a scrappy quilt, whether it be scraps or new fabric??

Also, I think someone mentioned an online fabric store that somehow allowed you to place fabrics next to each other to see how they look? That might be handy for her....and for me. :)

Okay, thanks for any help you can provide. Here is a picture of the charity quilt that she likes so much.

Dina
Attached Thumbnails attachment-205263.jpe  
Old 06-01-2011, 02:57 PM
Power Poster

Choosing an equal amount of lights, mediums and darks, and you can't really go wrong :D