Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Can you have a red top thread and a whute bottom thread? >

Can you have a red top thread and a whute bottom thread?

Can you have a red top thread and a whute bottom thread?

Old 09-16-2012, 04:00 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
OrangeSherbet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hewitt, Texas
Posts: 138
Default Can you have a red top thread and a whute bottom thread?

I would like to stitch in the ditch with a red thread on top and a white thread showing on the backing.
I have tried to do this on 3 different sewing machines. Either I can see the white thread peeking thru on top or the red thread peeking thru on the backing.

I know that theoretically this is possible since the lock stitch should be right in the center between the top and the backing. In my case it should be in the batting.

Has anyone tried this and actually made it happen?

Mary Lou
OrangeSherbet is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 04:02 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 38,176
Default

I can sew successfully with two different threads in my Bernina with regular sewing. I have never had much success doing it with FMQ. I usually save myself the aggravation and use the same thread on the spool and in the bobbin.
Tartan is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 04:10 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The middle of an IL cornfield
Posts: 7,014
Default

I can do it with straight stitching, but never get it right for FMQ.
Lisa_wanna_b_quilter is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 04:17 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
LivelyLady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 2,714
Default

I agree with the others. I always use the same color thread for top and bottom when FMQ with a busy fabric with the main color being the same color I'm using for quilting.
LivelyLady is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 04:23 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mechanicsville, IA
Posts: 1,497
Default

It's virtually impossible to do unless you have very thick batting. There is just not enough space for the threads to connect in a thinner batting and quilting whether LA or fmg means you are manipulating either the machine or the fabric a lot more than when just plain sewing. I can do it on my longarm if the threads are at least in the same color family and the backing is not plain, but I would not choose to try it with white and red unless the backing was very very busy and the red porkies wouldn't show on the back.
Silver Needle is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 05:30 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 6,487
Default

I did it recently with a red varigated on top and a yellow on the bottom. It was no problem FMQ on the 301, but when I switched to a newer machine for a decorative stitch, it was not as perfect. Way too much red on the bottom.

Last night I did bright orange on the top and pale blue on the bottom FMQ a border. Perfect again with the 301.
irishrose is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 06:26 PM
  #7  
Power Poster
 
Jingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Outside St. Louis
Posts: 36,154
Default

You just need to play with the top tension. I have good luck with the tension on 2 or right before the 2 with the presser foot down. I just finished quilting with a varigated yellow to dark brown on top and dark brown on the back. If any pokies I want them on the back. FMQ is about all I do. Good luck.
Jingle is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 07:01 AM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: howell, Mi
Posts: 2,345
Default

I've done it with my Janome. It is difficult to get the tension just right, but it can be done. Some machines are just hard to get along with.
Sue
susie-susie-susie is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 07:20 AM
  #9  
amh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Saskatoon SK Canada
Posts: 280
Default

It is possible, but takes some effort to get the sewing machine tension just right. If you get it just right (took me three hours one day) make sure that you remember what the setting is because you don't want to go through that again. I have several different tension settings taped to the side of my machine, as an easy reference when I start to quilt. My machine actually likes different settings with different batting, so I have included that information on my little reference card too.
amh is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 07:24 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 701
Default

Originally Posted by irishrose View Post
I did it recently with a red varigated on top and a yellow on the bottom. It was no problem FMQ on the 301, but when I switched to a newer machine for a decorative stitch, it was not as perfect. Way too much red on the bottom.

Last night I did bright orange on the top and pale blue on the bottom FMQ a border. Perfect again with the 301.
Can't get away from it - us oldsters (including old machines) are fabulous! We nearly always do the job right!!!!
majormom is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
QuiltingNinaSue
Recipes
18
07-13-2013 11:01 AM
mmonohon
Pictures
9
05-10-2011 03:43 AM
lhavelka
Main
4
11-25-2010 07:47 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.