Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
"clip loose threads" >

"clip loose threads"

"clip loose threads"

Old 08-22-2016, 06:34 AM

Default "clip loose threads"

When preparing a quilt for longarming, the phrase "clip all loose threads" is always number one on the list. What does that mean exactly? I think it means any fabric ravels. My sister thinks it refers to thread-thread, and not fabric-thread. I've looked at several websites and the phrase is always there, but no explanation of what it entails.
Old 08-22-2016, 06:40 AM
Power Poster

Those threads that are sticking out or up but check with your long armer for sure.
Old 08-22-2016, 06:41 AM

It means thread - thread. They also appreciate neatly pressed quilt tops. This is how I prefer a quilt that is brought to me to quilt. I am not a professional quilter, I do it as favors for friends.
Old 08-22-2016, 06:50 AM
Power Poster

It is for thread-thread, and fabric ravels, etc. Anything that is extra that shouldn't be there. The threads in your piecing are in the 1/4" seam allowance-that's great. But any extras that aren't trimmed, or fabric ravels are not welcome. As a for instance: you've left some longer dark threads. You have some white fabrics in your quilt top. If those longer dark threads happen to show through on the white fabric, both you and I would be concerned!
Please do trim threads, also square up the top, remove selvages, and press the top. These steps are appreciated!
Old 08-22-2016, 06:51 AM

I always thought it meant threads and threads from raveling fabric.
Old 08-22-2016, 07:02 AM

Originally Posted by Mariposa View Post