Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Cost of Fabric

I went into a local quilt shop, the only one I know of within 30 minutes, to look around. I was amazed at the selection, but I was also amazed at the prices. Most were $9+/yard and some were on sale for $6. Is this normal? I am new to quilting and to be honest most of my fabric up to now has come from Wal-Mart. Is this a case of you get what you pay for as far as quality or were they taking advantage of the fact that they are the only shop around? I also asked if they did classes and they said no. Bummed,
    Jamie

Yes... this is the going price for quality fabric (LQS fabric). There is a definte quality difference between LQS fabric and Walmart fabric. I buy most of my fabric on-line.

http://www.fabric.com/

is a website with good prices and selection and they have good amount in their clearance section. There is also a coupon "CLEAR1026" you can use for 30% off. I am not sure if that is also off the clearance fabric.

Around here that's pretty normal. Occasionally Walmart has good fabric as long as you purchase the ones that are higher end and stay away from the $1 or $2 a yard.

Now, that said, we all have to live within our budgets and there are some ways to cut back on the cost of fabric. As long as you're not putting your quilt in a contest you can shop thrift stores for cotton sheets to be used as backing, new fabric at our Goodwill is 72 cents a yard, 100% cotton shirts from garage sales or thrift shops can be cut up for blocks, etc. Get creative.

the LQS here has prices starting at $11.98 and goes to $16.98 for batiks.

i hand dye most of my fabric and the fabric i do purchase comes mainly from Fabric.com for the reasons listed above by the previous poster.