Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Decided to buy new sewing machine, which one? >

Decided to buy new sewing machine, which one?

Decided to buy new sewing machine, which one?

Old 09-21-2013, 11:33 AM

Default Decided to buy new sewing machine, which one?

I would love to get a Bernina with the BSR, the new ones are a lot of $$$. What about the older ones? Which ones is the best for quilting?
Old 09-21-2013, 01:28 PM

I have no owner experience with Bernina, but maybe you can find a used one from an owner or dealer (from someone's trade-up). You can usually get good deals on floor demo models from most dealers, too. As for your question about which one is best for quilting, if you are speaking of free motion quilting, I'd have to say go with the largest throat space you can get.
Old 09-21-2013, 01:53 PM

Originally Posted by debbiemarie View Post
I would love to get a Bernina with the BSR, the new ones are a lot of $$$. What about the older ones? Which ones is the best for quilting?
I can tell you from experience that all the Berninas are great machines! I've used my model 930 from 1985 to do lots of straight line quilting -- just slip on the walking foot and I'm off to the races. The model 830 Record was great for quilting too and they are easier to find because there were more of them made than the 930. Both of them are mechanical models (not computerized) but they contain cams which give you a wide variety of stitches. Although I have never done any FMQ with them (I have a wooonderful Singer 15 for that), you can drop the feed dogs on both of them to do FMQ. With their vertical bobbins it should be easy ... after a fair amount of practice. As with anything else in life, practice makes perfect!