Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Do you use 1.5" strips? >

Do you use 1.5" strips?

Do you use 1.5" strips?

Old 09-02-2012, 10:42 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Favorite Fabrics's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orchard Park, NY (near Buffalo, which is near Niagara Falls)
Posts: 3,884
Default Do you use 1.5" strips?

Usually, I see 2.5" strips, and jelly roll patterns for using those.

Just wondering if any of you have used 1.5" strips, and what you made from them.
Favorite Fabrics is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 10:46 AM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
nativetexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: home again, after 27 yrs!
Posts: 19,388
Default

well i use 1 inch strips of black inbetween blocks. but not 1.5 jelly rolls so far.
nativetexan is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 10:52 AM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
RedGarnet222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Reno, Nv
Posts: 15,561
Default

The 1.5 strips are good to make purses, wallets or other accessories with. Doll quilts or tiny pp projects.
RedGarnet222 is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 10:55 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 3,753
Default

I used them once to make a purse but I don't really like to work with such narrow pieces.
Raggiemom is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:10 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
Posts: 6,726
Default

Log cabin blocks
auntpiggylpn is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:22 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 6,487
Default

My daughter does LC wallhangings - my Christmas tree is lovely. I am going to use 1 1/2" strips on the light side of my uneven LC, so a light precut pack would work. Other than just outlines and such, I haven't graduated to such narrow strips.
irishrose is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:36 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 8,788
Default

Other than a narrow sashing or border, the only 1.5 inch strips I use are scraps that I put into string quilts.
quiltsRfun is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:38 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Elkhart, KS
Posts: 406
Default

The "Snake River Log Cabin" uses all 1.5 widths.
quiltyfeelings is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:45 AM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Outer Space
Posts: 9,319
Default

I've made several rail fence quilts using honeybuns.
Candace is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 12:04 PM
  #10  
Super Member
 
ArtsyOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canadian in Minnesota
Posts: 3,078
Default

I used them for log cabin blocks, sashings for some patterns, the front face of Attic Windows frames and string quilts, but when I'm stocking up my stash of strips I always cut the 2.5"
ArtsyOne is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
justflyingin
Pictures
217
01-05-2019 09:12 PM
bearisgray
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
59
08-31-2015 06:14 PM
vjohn1006
Pictures
111
07-26-2014 03:14 AM
wildyard
Main
104
02-10-2011 09:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.