Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Easiest Beginner Pattern? >

Easiest Beginner Pattern?

Easiest Beginner Pattern?

Old 04-08-2013, 07:42 AM

Default Easiest Beginner Pattern?

I am still new in quilting. Completing 9 quilted wall hangings and 11quilted checker board and one king size sofa cover. With several UFO's.

Our local Police Athletic League has asked me to start a beginners quilting class. These classes will be for at-risk kids in our city. The approach to these classes will be, quilting with whatever is available. (These kids only get meals when school is in session.) So teaching them to utilize what is at home, with permission will be the goal (less waste for the landfill).

There are 7 sewing machines that were donated about 7 plus years ago. Some need parts, some we have not had the chance to look at yet. I will have a very limited budget and hope to get some donations as well.

"MY" thoughts are to get dress shirts, dresses, etc. from the local resell shop for them to cut up and use.

What pattern should be used for a quick, lap quilt?
Old 04-08-2013, 07:53 AM
cjr

Asimple 9 patch that they can create into a lap for themselves. Use large blocks like 5" to 10 " size. 7" will allow usage of arms in shirts. if you are procuring fabrics, try to choose bright colors. "At risk" have enough bleakness. Thrift stores often have lots of sheets, comforters(most cheap store made) but could be used for batting and backing. Also drapes and table linens. Towels can be used for batting also. They may donate some to you. Get letter from PAL stating you are authorized solicitor. Maybe some of PAL members have above to donate to you.
Good Luck.
Old 04-08-2013, 07:57 AM

a simple jelly roll race (or 1600) quilt is fast and easy and they'll see quick results. Can also be made from scraps, left overs, donations (I used old pillowcases for my first attempt). It'll also be great to work in teams (cutting, ironing, sewing and then rotate the duties)