Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Sewing Machine Feet?!? >

Sewing Machine Feet?!?

Sewing Machine Feet?!?

Old 04-07-2013, 06:05 AM

Default Sewing Machine Feet?!?

Hi Everyone,

I am brand new to quilting...decided to make a tshirt quilt for my daughter instead of tossing out all her old tshirts that don't fit anymore. Brilliant, right?? Ha!
So, I started cutting and sewing and then realized...hmmmm...maybe I should try some little practice projects. I have two placemat sized quilting sandwiches ready to go.

The problem? My machine came with a quilting foot and a walking foot. And some other feet I know nothing about. Did I mention I never sewed before?? Yes, I am very brave! lol

So, what is the difference between the quilting foot and the walking foot? Also, I haven't looked, but then there's the free form foot??? So many feet, so little socks.

Oh, yeah, and what about the fabric feeder...do you drop or not? I've read yes, yes, drop it...no, no, don't drop it.

All I know, is that yesterday I tried to quilt a strip of fabric (just for practice and checking my tension)...and IT DID NOT WORK OUT!!!
I have the quilting foot on it, I dropped the feeder thingie and my fabric would not budge! I couldn't get it to move AT ALL! Sooooo.....I'm thinking bring the feeder back up and maybe try the walking foot today?

Don't get me started on tension...I still have to Google that bad boy.
Old 04-07-2013, 06:16 AM

Did you stabilize the shirts with fusible interfacing then sew all the squares together? After sewing squares together then sandwich the top (shirts) backing and batting. The proceed to stitch in the ditch down and across the seams with your walking foot. After the squares are all stabilized do the quilting you desire in each block with your free form foot. This s a very ambitious project. You need to google t shirt quilts and get more precise directions.
Old 04-07-2013, 06:26 AM