Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
embroidery machine >

embroidery machine

embroidery machine

Old 02-16-2015, 12:54 AM

Default embroidery machine

I've been sewing for 30 years, quilting 15 years and this weekend finally bought my first embroidery machine! I'm so excited to start "playing" with it and I'm asking for any advice you can give me on all aspects of my new hobby, thread, stabilizers, brand names to stay away from, websites, etc. I got a Brother 770 in the box from the dealer, they say I should buy all my supplies from them, but I'm sure you guys know cheaper places to buy this stuff from. They acted as if I were speaking greek when I mentioned buying from connectingthreads. Thank you!
Old 02-16-2015, 02:34 AM

Join the site, Designs By Sick. It is free and they give away designs daily, every hour and every 1/2 hour. The designs are a good price too.
Old 02-16-2015, 02:57 AM

I have a Brother 770 as well. I recommend checking out the videos on youtube by Vince Acuri(sp?). Just search Brother 770 and his videos should come up. He saved my sanity yesterday when I had to go back and see how he puts his thread on the spool. He has a video that is over an hour long for the new owner that is super. I have been getting my stabilizers, prewound bobbins and temporary adhesive from Amazon and I purchased a bunch of thread from threadart.com. Threadart also has designs and a digitizing service which is kind of neat. I've purchased a couple of designs from Embroidery Library and one from an etsy shop. There are lots of options for designs. I'm using the Sew What Pro program to incorporate purchased designs in my Brother 770.

Have fun with your new machine
Old 02-16-2015, 04:08 AM