Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Felt Quilting >

Felt Quilting

Felt Quilting

Old 10-05-2016, 08:24 AM

Default Felt Quilting

I'd like to try my hand at creating a table runner using felt. What type of tools/equipment would you suggest I collect? I'm completely new to this craft... thank you!
Old 10-05-2016, 08:44 AM

I assume you're doing "wool" applique with the felt. I've done a few & took a class on a cute pumpkin runner last year and they had us get the following:
1) Heat & Bond (unless you're using that fake plastic felt from JAF, in which case you can get away with Pellon 805)
2) Chenille needles if you plan to hand applique
3) Perle cotton or floss for hand applique, or for machine: Aurifil 12wt in top (with size 90 Topstitch) and 40/50wt in the bobbin ("they" say you should always put 50wt in the bobbin, but I've run it with 40wt & it's done fine; I find it grabs the 12wt thread better since it's a bit thicker)
4) Dry iron -- ideally without steam holes, otherwise you really need to be careful as the iron does leave marks on your felt. Be sure to always press with the tip pointing OFF the edge of your piece or you'll end up with pointy triangle indents on your felt!
5) Pencil/pen for tracing pattern onto the fusible; I also like a Sharpie in case the lines on my pattern are hard to see
6) Fabric & paper scissors
7) Good lighting so you can see your stitches -- I use a portable LED light by IdeaWorks if I'm going to be working on it anywhere other than my super bright sewing studio.
8) Seam ripper, just in case
9) And, of course, your felt & pattern.

Happy Quilting! Hope you love working with wool as much as I do!
Old 10-05-2016, 04:51 PM

Bree YOU are a fountain of info...thank you! How did your pattern turn out?
Old 10-08-2016, 07:58 PM

Where do you purchase your wool? I only have a JAF local
Old 10-08-2016, 10:33 PM

Hi Neuras,