Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
First time quilter with newbie questions. >

First time quilter with newbie questions.

First time quilter with newbie questions.

Old 02-17-2014, 01:49 PM

Red face First time quilter with newbie questions.

Hey, I'm back. I was waiting for my machine, and was having some delivery issues. Anyway, I got my machine and I am eager to begin my first solo quilt. (I say solo because I did help my mom with piecing a quilt for my son, but I have zero experience with batting, sandwiches, quilting, or anything else I don't realize--haha!) Anyway, I want to try a strip quilt, but I will make wide strips. I have six different fabrics, so I think I will make six strips. I think I will also try to create a border, but I will have to get more fabric. (BTW, this will be a small quilt, kind of like a lap blanket--for my three year old.)

Anyway, I am working with quilting cottons for the piecing. What do you recommend for a bottom and batting? I was considering going without batting and using fleece instead, but I figured with fleece being more of a stretchy fabric, I might be asking for trouble with it being my first.

Also, anything you can think of that I should know before diving in? Hehe.
Old 02-17-2014, 02:11 PM

I generally use a cotton batting such as Warm & White, and a cotton backing. I try to buy the wide, 108" so I don't have to piece the back. But that's just a personal preference. As you do more quilts, experiment and see what you lie best.
Old 02-17-2014, 02:14 PM