fmq

Old 11-08-2010, 10:09 PM

i am relatively new to fmq. do it all on my little singer machine. i always think i am doing pretty good until i see all the quilts that are posted with such intricate quilting designs - tiny flowers, tiny little swirly things etc - all done so perfectly. are all these done on regular machines or on longarms? is there a program that does these or do all of you that do them have super steady hands and awesome eye/hand coordination? i have even tried fmq small flowers but they end up all wonky. just curious how long it takes to master this and if it can be done on a regular machine or do you need a longarm to do it? all my quilts seem so amaturish (sp) compared to what is posted on this site.
Old 11-08-2010, 10:17 PM

I have been wondering as well.
Old 11-08-2010, 10:24 PM
Power Poster

Some are free hand work, and some are computerized on a LA and some are done on small domestic machines. The more you practice, the better you will get :D:D:D

I have read where the professional have said that when they free hand, they do not get every detail exact and perfect. Even the judges don't expect that. They are looking more at the stitching and the over all effect :D:D:D
Old 11-09-2010, 02:06 AM

I do freehand fmq on a domestic machine, and dont worry about every little element being perfect.
It does take practice - and you will see improvements each time you do some.
Old 11-09-2010, 02:50 AM
Power Poster

Do a lot of doodling with a pencil and paper - similar designs to those you want to sew - it helps with the hand/eye co-ordination and gives you an idea how you can get out of corners and around designs in your quilt.

When I first wanted to meander or stipplie, I doodled on the backs of envelopes in different sizes - even on newspaper!
Old 11-09-2010, 03:09 AM

Originally Posted by Fancy Nancy