Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Free motion feet for pfaff quilt expression 4.2pffaf >

Free motion feet for pfaff quilt expression 4.2pffaf

Free motion feet for pfaff quilt expression 4.2pffaf

Old 07-17-2020, 06:41 PM

Default Free motion feet for pfaff quilt expression 4.2pffaf

I am just getting started learning free motion quilting on my Pfaff quilt expression 4.2. It comes with a "Sensoromatic free motion foot 6A".. I am not having much luck with that foot. It also doubles as a darning foot. Pfaff also makes a "Free motion echo quilting foot" that looks like a large clear plastic circle with markings to help you follow lines of quilting. There is also an "Open toe free motion spring foot "and a "Dynamic spring foot". The spring is supposed to keep the fabric from lifting with the needle while the stitch is being formed. Does anyone have any experience with these feet? All advice will be appreciated.

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 07-18-2020 at 03:56 AM. Reason: remove unnecessary QB link
Old 07-18-2020, 02:48 AM

I have the Pfaff 5.2 Expressions. I was massively frustrated with the free motion use on the machine. I then discovered that I needed to make a small change and life has been so much better. (I was using the incorrect foot plate. Switched back to the one with the single little circular hole and all was perfect!) Three quilts later I am thrilled again with my FM and my Pfaff. I use the simple little purple plastic foot - Sensoromatic free motion foot. I have looked for the open toe spring foot but at this time the little purple foot is perfect! I haven't conquered feathers yet, but everything else has been pretty easy with minimal practice.
Old 07-18-2020, 06:08 AM