Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help With Feed Dog Question >

Help With Feed Dog Question

Help With Feed Dog Question

Old 09-28-2014, 01:04 PM

Default Help With Feed Dog Question

I am a novice quilter but have been using a Kenmore sewing machine 15516. It is an older machine. Today as I was piecing the feed dogs stopped pulling the fabric through . The lever that's supposed to raise or lower the feed dogs does nothing. I looked in every crevice I could find and nothing seems to have broken off. In your opinion should I take for repair or look for a replacement. Thank you
Old 09-28-2014, 01:09 PM

It depends. If you think you might be ready for an upgrade do that. But if you enjoy this machine and want to continue using it a trip to the sewing machine doctor might be in order. Good luck!
Old 09-28-2014, 01:54 PM

I'd do both. I'm also a newbie quilter and have been using a 35 year old Kenmore. I serviced it to get it running as best it could because it's a solid old workhorse and I want to be able to count on it as a backup. It's solid steel and will probably last forever But I'm also going to buy a newer sewing machine, because I want more features to make my quilting more enjoyable. I long for needle up/needle down, auto tie off and start and end, the ability to move my needle so my fabric clears the right feed dog when sewing the almighty scant 1/4" seam and I want better lighting dammit! I'm tired of having to try and squeeze a hobby lamp into the harp because I can't see what I'm doing. And more room! Some fancy stitches would be nice too. I swear I'm going to use all 190+ stitches on the new one - honest!
Old 09-28-2014, 02:23 PM
Power Poster