Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help Needed for thread storage/organization >

Help Needed for thread storage/organization

Help Needed for thread storage/organization

Old 10-02-2015, 01:49 PM

Default Help Needed for thread storage/organization

I have just purchased a new embroidery machine, and 116 spools of embroidery thread. Any suggestions as to how to organize/store this thread? It has to be in boxes, (no wall room or thread stand room). Since it's by one manufacturer, do I store it by number or color? When I start to pull the threads for embroidery, is it easier to find them by color number or all the 'blues', greens, etc. together. After the threads are pulled for one project, do you 'line them up' or put them in another box? Any and all help and suggestions are welcome and appreciated. If you have any embroidery tips, I can also use those. I'm a real embroidery newbie.
Thanks, everyone. Appreciate all help.
Old 10-02-2015, 02:22 PM

Mine is stored in the plastic bins made for thread by numbers. When you are looking at the pattern they list by numbers.
I think the bins were about $5 at Walmart. But its been a good while since I bought them.
Have fun.

Ps: I line them up by the number they are calling for the sewing order. So it may be, 63, 4, 142, 86, etc.

Last edited by Tiggersmom; 10-02-2015 at 02:24 PM.
Old 10-02-2015, 02:43 PM
Power Poster

I have a set of 256 spools, stored in boxes by color. the boxes I have are deep enough to have a 1/4" piece of plywood with dowels glued on (I made this wood insert) I wrote the color number on the dowel to make it easier to put away. I also numbered the rows of dowels, and wrote the row number on the spool. I then made an excel spreadsheet with the color number and row number so I could find the color easier. I also got the multi spool holder for my sewing machine so as I pull the spools, I just put them on the thread holder.
Old 10-02-2015, 02:44 PM
Power Poster