Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 76

Thread: help! opinions needed!

  1. #1
    Senior Member QuiltingCrazie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Las Cruces, NM
    Posts
    751

    help! opinions needed!

    I spent time today cutting out an apple core quilt with the accuquilt. I have never done an apple core and some of my fabric was directional. This a surprise Christmas present for the DH. While I'm doing the layout I realize all the novelty is going one direction and the black the other, so I wasted time and material with the directional prints. In trying not to waste more before I start sewing there are four blocks that are the noticeable ones. They would not capture the print if I did them the other way. Does it look horrible if I leave them? What do you think? I know it's my quilt but still wanted opinions!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    *Rachel*

  2. #2
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    29,904
    It looks great to me! I think the directional print just makes them easier to see from all sides of the quilt.

  3. #3
    Senior Member QuiltingCrazie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Las Cruces, NM
    Posts
    751
    Thanks!! I needed that!
    *Rachel*

  4. #4
    Super Member JulieR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Emmitsburg, MD
    Posts
    1,624
    Yep, I agree - fabulous quilt! There isn't a clear "top" and "bottom" on most quilts, so having patterns that go in multiple directions is perfect.

  5. #5
    Super Member Abby'smom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Oak Ridge North, TX
    Posts
    7,060
    Quote Originally Posted by Tartan View Post
    It looks great to me! I think the directional print just makes them easier to see from all sides of the quilt.
    me, too -- good-looking quilt!!
    diane

  6. #6
    Member BryeLynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ocala, FL
    Posts
    20
    I think it looks great. We are so much harder on ourselves then others. I am sure they won't notice and will love it.
    Don't wait for inspiration to get started - get to work and the inspiration will come.

    www.SewStitchCreate.com

  7. #7
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,935
    Blog Entries
    45
    unless it's a wall hanging, the blocks can go any direction as to be seen from different sides
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Florida
    Posts
    4,609
    Blog Entries
    45
    I love your quilt. It's like a big boy's I Spy.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Sdwill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    SW Arkansas
    Posts
    401
    It looks great! Leave it be.
    Sharyl

  10. #10
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    3,999
    I think it looks like you planned it that way, kind of like an I spy quilt. I bet he would love it just like that!
    Sewbeadit
    W. Washington

  11. #11
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    15,274
    Blog Entries
    1
    I looked for a long time and nothing jumped out at me so I'd say leave it. It looks great!
    Martina
    Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Fabric!

  12. #12
    Senior Member Toni C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Crosby,Texas
    Posts
    838
    I LOVE your layout! Looks perfect to me! Go for it and get er done ;-)

  13. #13
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,465
    Blog Entries
    2
    I agree with everyone. Unless you are making a wall hanging, or a bed quilt I don't worry about directional prints because a throw is going to be thrown every which way! As a matter of fact, I would make sure that you have the prints facing in all directions. I love the way it looks!!!
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  14. #14
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    28,624
    When using directional prints, it is best to have them at least for both ways top and bottom. That way there is no one way only. Looks great just keep sewing.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  15. #15
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    9,687
    Blog Entries
    31
    Have you ever made one of these before? More power to you. I gave up on mine after I got to the size of a placemat. I think hand piecing this pattern would be the most enjoyable way of doing it. I didn't like having to change sewing direction on every other block and getting the seams to match. I really like your alternating blocks and having a dirctional print in this pattern doesn't show as a directional so not to worry. I can't wait to see this finished!
    peace

    EDIT: After re-reading your post I see you haven't made one before. Don't be scared by what I said. It just wasn't a pattern that suited me.
    Last edited by ube quilting; 11-09-2012 at 04:08 PM.
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  16. #16
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6,002
    I think it's beautiful and he will love it just the way it is! Great job!

  17. #17
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,908
    Very unique take on the apple core-I like it!!!
    If you feel like you're special...it's 'cause you are!
    Momto5

  18. #18
    Super Member maryb119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    6,727
    I like it just the way it is. I have never seen an apple core quilt done with alternating black blocks but I sure like the idea! It looks great! I'm sure your DH will love it. Great job!

  19. #19
    Super Member kathdavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Blue Springs, Missouri
    Posts
    2,499
    Blog Entries
    2
    Awesome I Spy quilt.
    Kathleen

    Remember, people will see your quilts long after you are gone....NOT your housework!

  20. #20
    Super Member cowgirlquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norman, Oklahoma
    Posts
    4,695
    Wow I think it is awesome just as it is!
    Theressa
    Cowgirlquilter

  21. #21
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    19,754
    I didn't notice anything particular on the directional prints - in fact, I didn't locate them.

    It will be a very cute quilt.

    However, the five pieces with the white background really stand out - at the moment they seemed to be clumped in the lower third and a singleton in the upper left corner. Maybe do a little rearranging of those pieces?

  22. #22
    Super Member joeyoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    2,281
    I guess I'm blind. I don't see the problem. I think it looks great.
    Joey


    The Seven Dwarves of Menopause

    Itchy, Bitchy, Sweaty, Sleepy, Bloated, Forgetful and Psycho

  23. #23
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Southeast Georgia
    Posts
    2,526
    He's going to love it! I'd say leave it as is and finish that baby!

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    715
    I love it. I just did a jar quilt and I intentionally turned some upside down. I want to see how many people will make a comment. I think you can see your quilt from all different directions this way. I say leave it. Great quilt. Lucky DH.

  25. #25
    Junior Member Bataplai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Western Washington
    Posts
    274
    I think it's fine the way it is. As others have said - directionals both ways make the quilt right side up either way you look at it.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.