Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
help-size of geese unit for finished 12" block? >

help-size of geese unit for finished 12" block?

help-size of geese unit for finished 12" block?

Old 10-19-2014, 03:05 AM

Question help-size of geese unit for finished 12" block?

Hello, friends!

Newbie here, with a question or two regarding a Dutchman's Puzzle block I am making. This block, of course, consists of 8 "flying geese" units - and after reviewing the various methods from this website, I am preparing myself to use one of the "no-waste" techniques. What a great collection of sewing strategies - I am so glad to receive the ideas from this website! Thanks to all who contribute!

My questions on this topic are specifically about dimensions of fabric. From what I gather, in order to create a finished 12" Dutchman's Puzzle block, each of the 8 finished-size flying geese units must be rectangles that are 3"x6". I know this must seem incredibly obvious, but as I mention - I am truly a newbie!

So, the unfinished size of each FG unit must be 3-1/2"x6-1/2" - correct? That's my essential question about this part of my project. Whether or not I understand the size that includes my all-important 1/4" seam allowances!!

FWIW, this is the technique I will try out for this project - got the link from here, just wanted to let you all know what I'm planning: http://www.generations-quilt-pattern...lt-blocks.html
And, I downloaded the companion cutting chart which seems very helpful for a newbie!
http://www.generations-quilt-patterns.com/support-files/flying-geese-3-no-waste.pdf

Thanks for reading and helping!

Adam
Old 10-19-2014, 04:28 AM

Yes you are right... 3.5 by 6.5 unfinished size...that method is great ..I used it last night...just be careful when you are trimming it to size....a little tricky....the point of the geese should be at 3.25 inches...from either side...plus you need you 1/4 inch seam...I hope I haven't confused you...
Old 10-19-2014, 05:05 AM