Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: HELP!!!!

I am brand new at sewing and have been working on my first quilt but am now having a very hard time with my machine. I ran out of my bobbin and switched to a new one but for some reason I cannot get the bobbin thread to catch to make a "good tight stitch" for lack of better explanation. I have a Janome Memorycraft 9700..any ideas...PLEASE :(

Murray, Ky. Looking for a nice cushy pillow to rest my head on!
    Blog Entries
    Did you check the tension?? Rethread the upper thread?? Try taking the bobbin out and see if there is something stuck in the casing.

I don't mess with tension until I check EVERYthing else out. I've NEVER, in 5 yrs, changed the tension on my bobbin thread. My guess -- did you put the bobbin thread in backwards???

Quote Originally Posted by amandasgramma
    I don't mess with tension until I check EVERYthing else out. My guess -- did you put the bobbin thread in backwards???
    That would be my guess also.

Blog Entries
    Start with the basics- rethread the top of the machine - take out the bobbin - clean out the bobbin area well - put the bobbin back in - try it again :lol: Sometimes a piece of thread drops down into the bobbin area- just last week another member had a bunch of fuzzy built up under the bobbin area :shock: LOL

Rethread the machine top and bottom first. I also have threee Janome's and have never changed the tension on any of them. Is the boobin thread not hooked into the tension disc. Good Luck

I always start with taking everything out ( top thread and bobbin ) and check the needle. Change that if needed. Then rethread and replace the bobbin. If that's not it I clean the machine and oil. By then I'm usually okay.