Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help! what machine settings do I set to FMQ >

Help! what machine settings do I set to FMQ

Help! what machine settings do I set to FMQ

Old 10-24-2010, 03:47 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Carol B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 82
Default

Help to anyone who can tell me what settings I should use for my Janome sewing machine if I want to FMQ. I had a go on the weekend and what a mess the underneath was. I would like to have a play but I don't know how to set up the machine. If someone could give me a hand I would be very grateful.
Thanks
Carol B is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 03:52 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
bluekrissyspikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 261
Default

i don't have one of those but i know you have to turn the feed dogs off. i found the directions in my sewing machine book under darning. other than that just use a normal stitch.
bluekrissyspikes is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 04:04 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Carol B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 82
Default

Thanks for your quick reply. I did lower the feed dogs but it didn't seem to help. I had more success with them up?? The bottom layer seemed to be all loopy etc. There must be a way to stop it but I am not sure how to. I will get out my book and see if they have any information in it. Thanks for the tip.
Carol B is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 04:34 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
CompulsiveQuilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 733
Default

definitely see the book. set the stitch length to zero (some models), lower the pressure foot pressure to the lowest setting (some models). With my Viking, I have to select a certain stitch from the computer cards
CompulsiveQuilter is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 04:36 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
JoyVoltenburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sullivan, IL
Posts: 361
Default

it sounds like your top tension is too loose. try adjusting your tension.
JoyVoltenburg is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 04:59 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
sahm4605's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Posts: 2,167
Default

I hope that you have a darning foot also. I have a janome and have to have the foot on the loosest setting. if you are having really really loopy threads on the back that is probably a tension problem. might want to tinker with that a bit. hope this helps. And make sure those feed dogs are down. they can be a pain sometimes.
sahm4605 is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 05:01 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
scowlkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,500
Default

Ok, Janomes are great for FMQ. Sounds like the top tension is too loose. I used to set my 6500 to 5 or 6 (normal was 3). Also, the feed dogs should be down and it doesn't matter what stitch length you set because the length is controlled by you and how fast you are moving your quilt. I always - and I have been doing FMQ for several years - have a practice quilt sandwhich available and use it instead of my quilt until I get any issues resolved. It is also good to help get into a rhythm. Are you tensed up while trying to quilt? Try taking a deep breath and move your quilt very slowly with your machine set very slow. When you get relaxed, you can speed up with your movement as well as the machine speed. It is definitely something that gets easier with practice. Most important, don't give up! You couldn't ride a bicycle the first time you tried I bet!
scowlkat is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 05:14 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
miss_ticky2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 2,062
Default

It does sound like a tension problem..top thread. And, a previous posted mentioned..you need a darning foot.

Also, maybe if you post what exact machine you have there may be someone with the same machine that can be more specific with settings.

I've quilted on my old Janome without any problems and on my Horizon I had good results after adjusting the height of the FMQ foot
miss_ticky2 is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 05:24 PM
  #9  
Power Poster
 
nativetexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: home again, after 27 yrs!
Posts: 19,386
Default

i don't even bother the stitch length anymore. your speed of moving the quilt determines the stitch length. i took a class after doing FMQ for some time and the instructor said not to lower the feed dogs. we didn't. but i've put them down mostly since. depends on the fabric, batting, etc as to whether you encounter a problem or not.
just drop the feed dogs , foot/needle lever down and put on a darning foot with a spring on the shaft and quilt away. steady fast foot pedal speed and steady slower movement of your quilt.
nativetexan is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 05:44 PM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Carol B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 82
Default

Thanks very much for all your help. I have a play and let you know how I go!
Cheers
Carol B is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Lystra
Links and Resources
37
09-18-2011 09:11 PM
lhayes1976
Main
6
05-14-2011 06:13 AM
CAJAMK
Main
2
01-30-2011 12:09 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.