Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • How to applique letters >
  • How to applique letters

• How to applique letters

Old 02-15-2015, 03:17 AM

Default How to applique letters

Dear fellow quilters; I am making a very large quilted banner for our church (2 x 3 meters); and I will have approximately 2" tall letters on it for a Bible verse (both in English and Hungarian); plus some smaller (1" tall) letters; all in a celtic style font. I think I will be able to do the larger letters ok with either a needle turn or a fusible web type; but I am not at all sure about how to do the smaller letters. It needs to be a Celtic font (as our church is a Church of Scotland church), and the letters will be too small or too narrow to do appliqué easily. I am a novice with appliqué, but I think I can still do nice work. Any advice for me? Thanks! Carolyn

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 02-15-2015 at 06:48 AM. Reason: pm
    Old 02-15-2015, 05:40 AM
    Power Poster

I would do fusible applique for the large letters. If you have an embroidery machine, I would use it for the small letters. If you don't have an embroidery machine, I would mark the smaller letters onto the fabric and use a zig zag satin stitch to stitch out the letters following the outline.

I might mark the smaller letters on a separate strip of fabric matching the background and hand stitch it on after satin stitching the letters so it would be easier to manipulate while working on the letters.
    Old 02-15-2015, 05:46 AM
    Power Poster

You could also look into fabric paints.
    Old 02-15-2015, 06:17 AM
    Power Poster

Paper pieced letters look so much better then fused on banners. Our church has many banners and the fussed ones look more like poster letters. There is a big difference when seen side by side.
    Old 02-15-2015, 07:10 AM