Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
how do you call that quilting technique ? >

how do you call that quilting technique ?

how do you call that quilting technique ?

Old 11-08-2015, 08:02 PM

Question how do you call that quilting technique ?

Hi quilters!

I am totally new in quilting, I am fascinate by some drawing we can see on finish quilt.
it can be swirl, square, flowers, and it s made by sewing machine I think?! this has been made only with a sewing thread and the finish is fantastic, so impressive to see how the looks is repetitively well done
how do you do that? what quilting technique are we speaking of?

thanks!

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 11-09-2015 at 03:53 AM. Reason: remove copyright pic, should have used link
Old 11-08-2015, 08:19 PM

It is called free motion quilting(FMQ is the acronym most commonly used here) This can be done on a regular sewing machine or on a longarm machine. How the design is transfered can have different methods, You can use stencils, you can use all over design, or you can freehand it as in the picture
Old 11-08-2015, 08:47 PM
Power Poster

What Dolphyngyrl said.
Old 11-08-2015, 10:08 PM

Welcome to the board from Texas.
Old 11-08-2015, 11:11 PM

Welcome to the board. With FMQ you have the quilt sandwiched together, pins or special spray glue or elmers school glue. Then mark with any tool, chalk, frixion pen etc which can be removed after quilting. then try to keep on the lines. Your stitch length is slightly larger as well. Thread can blend in or show clearly. Pair of gloves to help with holding and manoeuvring the quilt. Patience and time required to master this beautiful technique.
Try on sample pieces to get it flowing freely. Relax.
Old 11-08-2015, 11:43 PM
Power Poster

I would probably just doodle the sun on but like others mentioned you can also use a drawing or stencil.
Old 11-09-2015, 06:24 AM
Power Poster