Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: How much fabric do you buy?

How much fabric do you buy?

I am new to the quilting "passion" and wonder how much fabric you buy when you find it on sale and don't have a specific project in mind?

Waaaayyyy too much! According to how much the final price is, and how much I can afford, I usually get a cart full of whatever I like. I usually buy prints on sale, so when I need solids, I "have" to go buy them (oh, woe is me, another trip to the store)! LOL
    A happy person is not a person in a certain set of circumstances, but rather a person with a certain set of attitudes. ~Hugh Downs
    Some people are always grumbling because roses have thorns.I am thankful that thorns have roses.~Allophones Karr
    “The happiest people I know are those who lose themselves in the service of others." — Gordon B Hinckley

"It does not matter how slowly you go as long as you do not stop." ~ Confucius

I buy only what I need. I always have some project going. I guess I don't plan ahead far enough to buy ahead. I just wait until I'm ready to start a project.

I need to clarify, I'm somewhat new to this obsession of quilting, too. So when I see some fabric that I'd like to make a quilt from someday, I never know how much I'm gonna need for whatever pattern I decide on. That's why I buy too much. By the way, I'm a contender for the top spot in "She who dies with the most fabric, WINS".
    A happy person is not a person in a certain set of circumstances, but rather a person with a certain set of attitudes. ~Hugh Downs
    Some people are always grumbling because roses have thorns.I am thankful that thorns have roses.~Allophones Karr
    “The happiest people I know are those who lose themselves in the service of others." — Gordon B Hinckley