Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
I want to quilt my own >

I want to quilt my own

I want to quilt my own

Old 04-06-2012, 04:07 PM

Default I want to quilt my own

Since I like to quilt so much but really can't afford to have all my tops quilted( I have several done) do any of you own a small quilting machine to do your own? How expensive are they? How easy to operate?
Old 04-06-2012, 04:12 PM

You can quilt large quilts on your home machine quite easily. There is a learning curve and you may not be happy with your first few quilts, but practice does improve results. Check out Leah Day on YouTube...she does beautiful free motion quilting on her home machine.

I'm just learning to free motion quilt, but already I can see the improvement in my style after completing two quilts. It just takes time, but saves a LOT of money.
Old 04-06-2012, 04:13 PM

Mine is a Gammill, which is kinda pricey but I think there's several out there that are more reasonable like the Bailey and some of the others made by other companies. Google longarm quilting machines and you should come up with a lot of info. And there's also the option of going with a used system...lots of bang for the (not so much) buck. Good luck!
Old 04-06-2012, 04:49 PM

I just use my regular Brothers sewing machine. (7" throat). My BIL made a frame that allows the sewing machine to be moved over top of the quilt (almost like a long arm). The down side is that I can only quilt a strip of about 4-5 inches at a time... given the size of the throat of my sewing machine. So mostly I use a medium stippling or meandering. I am happy that for large quilts, I don't have to crawl on the floor to pin baste.
Old 04-06-2012, 05:26 PM