Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
janome 5000 >

janome 5000

janome 5000

Old 03-12-2011, 01:23 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Triangle, NY
Posts: 184
Default

Does anyone on this list own a Janome 5000..a friend of mine dropped one off at my mom's house and gave it to her..it was her ex dil's and outside of being dirty from sitting in a garage it doesn't look like it was ever used..but when I stitched on it ..it won't move the fabric..I made sure the feed dog was engaged and I rethreaded it again and again....can't figure it out..wondered if I was missing something...I own 2 Janome's and 2 Bernina's and have never seen this happen...I assume its an obslete machine but maybe not..I couldn't find any information on line about it...blessings and have a quilty day
bearlea is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 01:33 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
kwendt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coastal Florida
Posts: 944
Default

I have a 4000 that I use as my main machine. Other than my serger, it's the newest machine I own. I love it. Other than doing a search online for repair issues, I'd say to really clean out the bobbin race/feeddog area. Stuff get's gunked up back in there, threads wrapped around. Take off the needle, the foot, the cover plates, take out the bobbin, the bobbin case... take out everything you can (do NOT loose the screws!)

Then get in there with a flashlight and really really look. raise/lower the dogs etc, turn the wheel to rotate hook... and find the pesky lint, dirt, threads that might be there. I've seen impacted built up gunk in 'new looking' machines before.

If that's not it.... maybe someone else has a better idea. It might could a broken pin on the bobbin case, a broken spring or whatever is connecting the feed dog mechanics to the rest of the moving world.

If you're afraid of taking it apart... do 2 things first. 1. is UNPLUG IT before you do anything. and 2. Take pictures of the machine and it's surfaces/parts before you dismantle it. Then you'll have a visual record of what goes where. I also use small sandwhich sized ziplock baggies to put parts from each area into (into sep baggies and marked with sharpie markers as to where they came from.) That's because it always takes me a week or two to finish my projects... lol.

How about other suggestions? Anyone?
kwendt is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 05:56 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Triangle, NY
Posts: 184
Default

[ I'd say to really clean out the bobbin race/feeddog area. Stuff get's gunked up back in there, threads wrapped around. Take off the needle, the foot, the cover plates, take out the bobbin, the bobbin case...

I tried that...still nothing..there wasn't even a speck of lint anywhere....I am wondering about the spring you mentioned..I wouldn't know if its there or not...I will have to take a good look at mine and see what it looks like and go back to mom's and look at the 5000...thanks for the suggestion though..I will keep trying..blessings
bearlea is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 06:57 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
kwendt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coastal Florida
Posts: 944
Default

Originally Posted by bearlea
[ I'd say to really clean out the bobbin race/feeddog area. Stuff get's gunked up back in there, threads wrapped around. Take off the needle, the foot, the cover plates, take out the bobbin, the bobbin case...

I tried that...still nothing..there wasn't even a speck of lint anywhere....I am wondering about the spring you mentioned..I wouldn't know if its there or not...I will have to take a good look at mine and see what it looks like and go back to mom's and look at the 5000...thanks for the suggestion though..I will keep trying..blessings
I'd think there's got to be gunk built up in there, not only under the bobbin but under the race. Take everything out, that you can. or... ... or that mechanical connection has been broken somehow. You may have to break down and take it to a sew shop and pay for a service on it. If you can't or don't want to pay for that. Well, the thing isn't working now... take it apart all the way and see.

I googled and saw there are places to buy the service manuals (and also the user manual if you need). You might try calling Janome USA on Monday.

Gosh... wish I could be of more help.
kwendt is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 05:24 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Triangle, NY
Posts: 184
Default

thanks so much...I will probably need to take it to the repair shop..its about 100 miles away though so it will have to wait...I drive in the oppisite direction everyday to visit my dd in the hospital...she had a stroke a month ago...she is 92 miles from me so its a long enough drive without adding a machine repair stop..heheheheh....my mom can wait to have it fixed until I can either figure it out or take it....in the mean time I will keep trying when I have time to peek around in it...blessings
bearlea is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 05:28 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
brushandthimble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North of Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 3,524
Default

my DIL had a problem close to what you are having; her stitch length needed to be larger, is must have been at zero.
Sometimes we overlook the simple solutions. (My call to my dealer last weekend, "did you turn the hand wheel")? boy did I feel stupid LOL
brushandthimble is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 05:33 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Triangle, NY
Posts: 184
Default

oh boy...well I did check the stitch length in case it was set on 0 but it was set at 2.2 and I took it up to 4 just to see and still nothing....thanks though...blessings
bearlea is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 05:53 AM
  #8  
Super Member
 
scrappy happy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,042
Default

sorry to read about your DD ((Hugs))
did you oil the machine
scrappy happy is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 06:35 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Triangle, NY
Posts: 184
Default

no b/c Janomes say they don't need oil..its all encased..but I know on my 10001 I do oil one spot the dealer had told me about..I will try that later...thanks...and thanks for the comment about my dd...please keep her in your prayers....
bearlea is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 08:50 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 211
Default

is there a darning setting on this machine? Check that?
sewn3w is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ReRe
Main
4
09-19-2015 07:24 AM
bshcbus
Main
0
01-09-2012 09:13 AM
Davis QFK
Links and Resources
0
04-01-2010 12:42 PM
jetnica
Main
10
02-27-2010 06:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.