Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Janome 6600 problem >

Janome 6600 problem

Janome 6600 problem

Old 06-04-2012, 12:39 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ploverwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 738
Default Janome 6600 problem

My Janome 6600 is cutting the thread way too short and it even pulls right out of the needle when being cut. Does anyone know how to remedy this? I hate to have to pay a technician to adjust something, but I am beginning to think that it will be the only way to stop the problem.
ploverwi2 is offline  
Old 06-04-2012, 01:07 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Raggiemom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 3,730
Default

I've never had that problem. I don't know what to suggest other than my old stand-by. When my machine is doing something I don't think it should be, I turn it off for 1/2 and unplug it. Many times whatever little quirk it was doing is gone then. Hope that helps
Raggiemom is offline  
Old 06-04-2012, 01:11 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Crqltr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,757
Default

Is the upper thread loose enough! If it is to tight it will stretch the thread to cut it . Is it coming off the spool easy enough?
Crqltr is offline  
Old 06-04-2012, 02:13 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4,782
Default

I have a different machine, a Babylock Serenade, and had that problem at first. It turned out the thread cutter doesn't work well with all threads. Mine works well with Gutterman, Mettler, Aurifil and Essentials (threads from Connecting Threads). The thread unthreads with these threads: Coats & Clark, Star, Robison Anton. Of course, your machine may have other "preferences", but I suggest you play around with different brands of thread and see if it makes any difference.
JustAbitCrazy is offline  
Old 06-04-2012, 02:45 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The California Hills
Posts: 626
Default

Regarding the thread cutting mechanism, my Babylock Espire started not consistently cutting the thread while making my last quilt (it would not cut the top thread about 1 in 5 times). Strangly, when I started my current quilt it has been working fine. I wondered if it was because I was using a different spool of thread (both are Connecting Threads but different colors) and tested that theory and proved it correct. My machine did not like the Lime thread. Luckily, it works just fine with the white and cream.
AngelinaMaria is offline  
Old 06-04-2012, 06:51 PM
  #6  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 16,753
Default

I have a 6600 and have not had that problem.

My go-to remedy when things are doing what they should ... is to take the spool and bobbin off/out and totally re-thread it. It's surpising how many times it solves the problem. We think we have it threaded right, but little things can make such a big difference.
QuiltE is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 06:34 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
snipforfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,881
Default

Loosen the top tension. This advice is from experience!
snipforfun is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 06:36 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
b.zang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,047
Default

I've had this happen, too, and plan to try the advice to loosen the top tension. Mostly, I don't use this feature.
b.zang is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 06:40 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ploverwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 738
Default

Thanks everyone. It wasn't the threading or the tension or the bobbin case. I did find that after it was turned off, it got much better and doesn't pull the thread out of the needle anymore. I am going to try using different threads. I use the same thread in the top and bobbin. I use the free motion feature several times a week. I deeply appreciate all your advice.
ploverwi2 is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 06:41 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ploverwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 738
Default

I think you are so right, because now it is doing just fine. The computer must have gotten a bit off.
ploverwi2 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Mummfan
Main
9
02-01-2019 05:13 AM
PghPat
Main
15
11-02-2018 06:49 AM
Joeysnana
Main
16
10-07-2010 05:33 PM
PghPat
Main
6
08-01-2010 09:40 PM
lorli
Main
3
12-31-2009 12:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.