Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: N ew Janome 6600 problem-fabric won't move

  1. #1
    Super Member Joeysnana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana, PA
    Posts
    1,006
    Blog Entries
    1
    My Janome is only 1 month old and when I tried to sew tonight, the fabric wouldn't move. It isn't that I dropped the feed dogs by mistake. Before this problem I didn't even know where the feed dog lever was located. Anyhow, when I now try to move the lever, nothing happens. Shouldn't I see the feed dog drop? Any suggestions as to why my fabric won't move? TIA

  2. #2
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,092
    Blog Entries
    1
    Try turning it off for a few minutes and then back on. Then try moving the feed dogs again.

  3. #3
    Super Member Melinda in Tulsa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Posts
    4,493
    Blog Entries
    62
    Turn the handwheel, this should engage the feeddogs.

  4. #4
    Super Member Quiltforme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Beautiful Washington state!
    Posts
    3,341
    Is there a bobbin threader that might cause it not to go. I have done this with my machine not janome but can happen to others.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    22
    I've had that happen with my Janome 9000 when I have switched from FMQ to regular sewing. Sometimes just touching the pad to the right of the machine wasn't enough. I had to use the switch on the machine to raise the feed dogs, and no I really couldn't tell that they had moved by looking, but I certainly could tell when I tried to move the fabric. Good luck.

  6. #6
    Super Member EasyPeezy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,668
    Which foot are you using? If you are using the accufeed, make sure
    the dual feed device is properly engaged. I've had this happen when
    changing feet. It just keep stitching in the same spot.

  7. #7
    Super Member Joeysnana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana, PA
    Posts
    1,006
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by EasyPeezy
    Which foot are you using? If you are using the accufeed, make sure
    the dual feed device is properly engaged. I've had this happen when
    changing feet. It just keep stitching in the same spot.
    Thank you so much!!! After reading your comment, I checked my machine and found I did not engage the Accufeed foot. Problem solved! Thanks everyone for all the help. I just love this board!

  8. #8
    Super Member seamstome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,338
    I have done this before!!!

  9. #9
    Super Member Joeysnana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana, PA
    Posts
    1,006
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by seamstome
    I have done this before!!!
    Glad I am not the only one!! :-D

  10. #10
    Super Member seamstome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,338
    We all do these things

  11. #11
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7,167
    Blog Entries
    3
    i've had my machine for nearly a year and still make that mistake often. :lol:

  12. #12
    Super Member franie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    6,573
    Until you take a stitch the feed dogs will not come back up.

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Yulee Florida
    Posts
    1,075
    isnt it cool when others can help you.

  14. #14
    Super Member EasyPeezy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,668
    Glad it worked. :D

  15. #15
    jridner1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by Joeysnana
    Quote Originally Posted by EasyPeezy
    Which foot are you using? If you are using the accufeed, make sure
    the dual feed device is properly engaged. I've had this happen when
    changing feet. It just keep stitching in the same spot.
    Thank you so much!!! After reading your comment, I checked my machine and found I did not engage the Accufeed foot. Problem solved! Thanks everyone for all the help. I just love this board!

  16. #16
    Senior Member tulip43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ontarios West Coast Canada
    Posts
    375
    Have done this also

  17. #17
    Super Member sash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,893
    Same thing happened to me right after I got new machine; still happens ever once in a while, but I then know what to do.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.