Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Janome Horizon 7700 question >

Janome Horizon 7700 question

Janome Horizon 7700 question

Old 06-08-2013, 04:06 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
kaykid815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Grand Junction CO
Posts: 72
Default Janome Horizon 7700 question

Every time I start new stitching and use the thread-lock-feature (sew-in-the-same-spot), I get a wad of threads on the under-side of the fabric. I'm betting there is a way to prevent this... any suggestions?
Attached Thumbnails img_9507.jpg  
kaykid815 is offline  
Old 06-08-2013, 05:35 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
omaluvs2quilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 926
Default

Are you holding the top & bottom threads or using scrap leaders to begin sewing into before you insert your fabric for actual stiching?
omaluvs2quilt is offline  
Old 06-08-2013, 05:50 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
kaykid815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Grand Junction CO
Posts: 72
Default

As you can see from the picture, the stitching often starts in the middle of a block.... in this case, I was doing an applique stitch, which does not end on the edge of the fabric. I don't know how I would hold the thread.. - and in that case, could not use scrap leaders...
kaykid815 is offline  
Old 06-08-2013, 06:39 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
EasyPeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,257
Default

Does it do the same thing when you sew a regular straight stitch?
I've never been a fan of the thread lock on my Janome 6600 so
I never use it.
EasyPeezy is offline  
Old 06-08-2013, 06:44 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
leakus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 955
Default

Kaykid, i love applique and do a lot of it by machine. What works for me, try it yourself: do just one stitch so the needle goes down only once and pulls up (just to start dont use the needle down feature if your machine has it), then, pull the end of the top thread so it brings the bottom thread up. Once you have both ends, use the knot feature while holdingthe threads with your left hand. As soon as the knog is done you can cut both ends against the fabric or hide them with a needle underneath the applique.
Clear as mud?
leakus is offline  
Old 06-08-2013, 06:45 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
leakus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 955
Default

Kaykid, i love applique and do a lot of it by machine. What works for me, try it yourself: do just one stitch so the needle goes down only once and pulls up (just to start dont use the needle down feature if your machine has it), then, pull the end of the top thread so it brings the bottom thread up. Once you have both ends, use the knot feature while holdingthe threads with your left hand. As soon as the knog is done you can cut both ends against the fabric or hide them with a needle underneath the applique.
Clear as mud?
leakus is offline  
Old 06-08-2013, 08:38 PM
  #7  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 16,836
Default

Originally Posted by kaykid815 View Post
As you can see from the picture, the stitching often starts in the middle of a block.... in this case, I was doing an applique stitch, which does not end on the edge of the fabric. I don't know how I would hold the thread.. - and in that case, could not use scrap leaders...
You could still use a Leader .... stitch onto the Leader, then leave a thread long enough for you to get to the stitching place. Otherwise, take one stitch to draw up your thread, as you would for FMQing ... and then hold the ends when you start.
QuiltE is offline  
Old 06-09-2013, 01:11 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
omaluvs2quilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 926
Default

If I start in the middle, I always bring the bobbin thread to the top and then hold both threads for the first couple of stitches too...hope it works for you : )
omaluvs2quilt is offline  
Old 06-09-2013, 02:09 AM
  #9  
Super Member
 
carolaug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Behind my sewing machine
Posts: 7,144
Default

Great tip! I never thught of doing it that way. I am going to have to try this.
Originally Posted by leakus View Post
Kaykid, i love applique and do a lot of it by machine. What works for me, try it yourself: do just one stitch so the needle goes down only once and pulls up (just to start dont use the needle down feature if your machine has it), then, pull the end of the top thread so it brings the bottom thread up. Once you have both ends, use the knot feature while holdingthe threads with your left hand. As soon as the knog is done you can cut both ends against the fabric or hide them with a needle underneath the applique.
Clear as mud?
carolaug is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
azure68
Main
32
03-09-2013 08:36 PM
Jamiestitcher62
Main
3
02-22-2012 09:55 AM
connie d
Main
14
08-02-2011 01:14 AM
mamaw
Links and Resources
3
01-02-2011 01:28 PM
quiltmom
Main
20
01-01-2011 03:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.