Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Long Arm Question >

Long Arm Question

Long Arm Question

Old 06-12-2013, 07:08 AM

Default Long Arm Question

I have the opportunity to buy an APQS Millennium 2008 model with compuquilter. I am new to long arm quilting and was actually looking at a Handiquilter. I think this APQS is way too much for me right now. Thoughts? Also, any idea what a good price for this APQS machine would be? The seller wants an offer instead of naming a price. Thanks for your help!
Old 06-12-2013, 07:35 AM

Search ebay and other web sites. Contact an APQS dealer and ask. But in the end you are looking at a major investment of probably $15000 to $20000 or more.
Old 06-12-2013, 08:08 AM

I can't help with pricing but don't worry about the machine being too much for you. After a bit of practice you will be just fine. Don't buy a low end machine and then think you will upgrade later. It is a bit tough to sell the first machine and get a good price for it.
Old 06-12-2013, 08:16 AM
Power Poster

I agree with crashnquilt in not worrying about it being too much machine for you if you can get it for a bargain. I am not familiar enough with APQS to know what size (throats) the Millis are.

That said, I think it is highly unusual that someone doesn't want to put a selling price out there especially for a machine that is computer guided. 2008 is only a 5 YO machine so relatively new in my mind. something not quite right that the seller isn't even giving you a ball park but wants you to submit an offer. I would offer her the same price as the HQ you were looking at with no bells or whistles. If you can get it for that price, find someway to get training on the machine and go for it!
Old 06-12-2013, 08:37 AM

yes, I would offer what you would pay for the new or used HQ, which by the way is hardly a low end machine these days depending on the model. Another thing to think about is the support you would receive with either machine.
Old 06-12-2013, 09:35 AM