Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Long Arm Question >

Long Arm Question

Long Arm Question

Old 08-05-2015, 09:44 AM

Default Long Arm Question

For those with a long arm, do you prefer pinning, red snappers, zippers or a different method of attaching your quilt to your long arm. I am waiting for a part for my new longarm and figured I would see what other like best. I can't imagine I would like pinning it to the leaders but who knows.

Also is there a good place to buy long arm supplies at??
Old 08-05-2015, 10:24 AM

I have been longarming for just over 15 years and still like pinning the backing to the leaders, basting the batting and quilt top to the backing, and attaching the lower portion of the quilt top with pins to the leader. My leaders are a heavy canvas to at first my fingers did get a little sore, but now that the leaders have softened up the pinning is quick and painless. I order Hobbs batting at wholesale prices directly from Waco, TX. I purchase thread and patterns from Linda's Electric Quilting, The Quilted Rose, Dallas Threads, Kingsmen Quilting, Sewthankful, Urban Elementz,Nustyle Quilting, Golden Threads and some others I can't recall at the moment.

Wishing you the best of the best of this great hobby and/or business!!
Old 08-05-2015, 11:32 AM

Previously we pinned onto the leaders, but after buying a different frame that had zippers we like it so much better. We find the quilts are so much easier to put on and seem to be more square on the frame.
Old 08-05-2015, 11:42 AM

I stapled for quite awhile then went back to pinning. you get to be very fast at whatever you do. here is a video showing stapling https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eF3Rr4KhTtg
Old 08-05-2015, 11:48 AM