Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Longarmming and thread >

Longarmming and thread

Longarmming and thread

Old 04-04-2014, 09:14 AM

Default Longarmming and thread

Hey all! I'm fairly new to long armming. I'm in the "must acquire thread - all of it - and ... oh that's lovely - I want 2 of those and 2 of those..." phase.

In the interests of getting thread I'll use and not have sitting around forever:

What colors are best to have in quantity?
What colors would you not expect to use but do? (Like that split pea soup color that I never expected to use...)
How much of a given thread would you have around?

My intention is to quilt largely for myself - quilts and quilted projects - and charity quilts but the deal with DH when I got her was that Lucey must also pay for herself - so we'll be quilting somewhat for others too. Which is sort of where my problem lies. If it was just quilting for me, I know I'd need primarily greys, blues and some soft browns/neutrals.

Invariably, a charity quilt comes in and I go Oh! That would be great with XX color.... and I don't have it.
Old 04-04-2014, 09:54 AM
Power Poster

Neutrals. I love Glide. They offer a couple of starter packs.

When I first started I ordered this one and have used everything in it:
http://www.bobbincentral.com/quiltin...al-colors.html

Edited to add, I go through a lot of white and I feel Glide Khaki seems to go with a lot. It is a light gold color. I also like threads so I have quite a bit right now. I find I don't use variegated near as much as I thought I would. Nor do I use cotton as much as I thought I would (too much lint whereas with poly I get no lint.)

Last edited by feline fanatic; 04-04-2014 at 09:59 AM.
Old 04-04-2014, 10:13 AM

I have a friend who quilts about 30 quilts a month for charity. She uses blue almost exclusively, she says it blends with almost every quilt. However, most of the quilts she gets are scrappy. I agree with stocking up on neutrals.