Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need advice machine binding cut too short >

Need advice machine binding cut too short

Need advice machine binding cut too short

Old 12-14-2019, 04:37 AM

Default Need advice machine binding cut too short

This may have been asked before but I didn't see it.
I was trying to do my machine binding and I am new to quilting. I have successfully done binding this way twice. However this time I accidentally cut it to short. Or maybe got my measurements off (Not sure)
Due to this I couldn't sew the rest down without having a lot of noticeable bunch on the actual blanket.
So my question is what would be the best best way of fixing this issue?
I do have extra fabric and I have 1 idea. I'm just not to sure on how to go about it.
Old 12-14-2019, 04:44 AM
Power Poster

since you have extra fabric, cut a longer strip and attach it to the original binding end on the diagonal. even if you didn't have extra of the same fabric, sometimes adding a contrasting/coordinating color is a nice 'pop' in the quilt.
Old 12-14-2019, 05:41 AM

Trust me, it happens all the time to quilters.

Take out the stitching so you can fill in with another piece of binding. Try to make the joins so they are spaced out on the edge you are working on. Generally, a join is better in the bottom 1/3 edge and not on the exact center of the edge.

I work the final join of the binding into the lower left 1/3 of quilt edge as the eye typically travels left to right.

Here is the join method I use for binding. Good luck!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7BT1pl_IolE
Old 12-14-2019, 06:12 AM

[ATTACH=CONFIG]620895[/ATTACH]
This is what I did. My stich pick seems to be missing and I got frustrated. So I had cut it more. Would sewing the extra fabric onto it still look ok?
*added as I forgot to mention.