Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

Thread: Need advice/opinions please!

  1. #1
    Senior Member HeatherQuilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    645
    I am making a patriotic table runner. I am going to back it in denim, and I'm wondering about a few things. I want to put something in between the layers, so that the white still looks white. I was thinking maybe flannel? I don't want anything with a lot of weight or loft. Also, do I need to secure it? (Quilt or tie or something?) It is about 40x14. If so, what would you suggest? I thought about SiTD, but I don't want that pattern on the denim side. Any ideas? One last question, what do you think I should do for binding? I think the denim might be too heavy/thick to fold it over to the front, but maybe not.
    Thanks in advance for your insight!! :D :D
    Attached Images Attached Images


  2. #2
    Senior Member HeatherQuilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    645
    P.S. Yes it bothers me that the fabric was not printed straight! :lol:
    The stars in the blue refused to line up for me!
    Oh well, can't be perfect! :D

  3. #3
    Power Poster sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,405
    Blog Entries
    10
    You could use either flannel or white warm and natural batting. Either will lay flat. Then you could quilt those two layers without the back on it . Then go back and to attach the backing , just stitch around the edge.

    As for bindng , I think the denim would be too thick and bulky to bring around .

  4. #4
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    22,990
    If you are using denim, you may not even need to put anything in the middle.

    Flannel would work - but be sure to pre-shrink it before using.

  5. #5
    Power Poster sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,405
    Blog Entries
    10
    OH and if you use flannel be sure ans wash it a couple times to get all the shrinking done :wink:

  6. #6
    Bernice H in Calif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Adelanto CA
    Posts
    42
    Yes you can use flannel.
    There is also this suff called Osenberg (hope I spelled it right). I use it wen I make rag quilts.

  7. #7
    Senior Member HeatherQuilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    645
    Quote Originally Posted by sharon b
    Then you could quilt those two layers without the back on it . Then go back and to attach the backing , just stitch around the edge.
    .
    That's a good idea! Thanks!

  8. #8
    Super Member Quilter2B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Our Little Green Acres in NorCal
    Posts
    1,299
    Like everyone said if you use flannel in the middle make sure you wash and dry a couple of times to get as much shrinkage as possible, then you could SID those layers. How about a solid navy blue for the binding? Love how you fussy cut the little blocks with the red star in the middle of each one. Nice job!

  9. #9
    Member KonaLinda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kailua-Kona Hawaii
    Posts
    77
    I'm not much good for advice but I know your runner is beautiful!

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    york county, PA
    Posts
    942
    I have some of that star fabric too. I try to use it in small pieces so the crookedness isn't obvious!

  11. #11
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,761
    Oh that is very pretty!

    You could use white warm & natural, quilt it (minus the backing) and then put the backing on, sew it, turn right side out and bind with a red.

  12. #12
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,955
    If you just want to quilt on the top, then why don't you attach it to some white muslin before putting on the denim backing.

  13. #13
    Super Member BKrenning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lake Wales, FL, USA
    Posts
    1,553
    You could use fusible to fuse the runner to the denim. If you use a medium weight, that should also back the white enough to keep the denim from showing through.

    You could probably fold the denim to the front and sew it down except for the corners. Those are going to be tough. I would just bind it with the red fabric if you have a little more.

  14. #14
    Google Goddess craftybear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Central Indiana (USA)
    Posts
    30,656
    Blog Entries
    194
    thanks for sharing

    I just made a table runner and I used Warm and Natural for the batting, turned out great

  15. #15
    Super Member Kathy N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brighton, MI
    Posts
    1,007
    I like to use Pellon
    Fleece, it lays super flat and yet blocks the view from the white. Easy to quilt.

  16. #16
    Power Poster CarrieAnne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    26,038
    Oh, it is really pretty!

  17. #17
    Senior Member ncsewer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    754
    I have used craft felt on several runners. The white will help your white fabric keep it's color. It's very thin but still dense. It comes in bolts that you purchase by the yard just like cotton. Comes in lots of colors and washes well too.

  18. #18
    granniebj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    752
    Others have great suggestions. I just wanted to say...I love it!

  19. #19
    Super Member Barbm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    blink and you've missed it
    Posts
    2,611
    I discovered fusible fleece. Light weight, and makes it such a nice finish to the top.

    P.S. Love the patriotic runner. Can't wait to see how you quilt it.

  20. #20
    Super Member Honchey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Central Jersey & Calabash,NC
    Posts
    4,036
    I would definitely use a red for the binding--I think it would blend better. The fusible fleece is a great idea!

  21. #21
    Super Member annette1952's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Harrison, MI
    Posts
    8,506
    I love your runner. Very pretty. I have a comment though. Make sure you wash the denim as many times as it takes for the water to be clear. I would hate for it to bleed onto your top when you wash it. Some denim doesn't bleed too bad & other denim does. You probably knew that but thought I would mention it.

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    744
    I love the table runner. If I find my stars I will make one to, thank you for sharing. Theresse

  23. #23
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,079
    Blog Entries
    1
    You could use blue thread to SID around just the blue blocks, it wouldn't show a lot on the back then.

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Manitoba
    Posts
    390
    Do you have enough of the star print for the binding? I would use either that or the red. I think the denim would be too heavy. Your runner looks amazing. Great job!

  25. #25
    Super Member Rainbow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,327
    AWESOME table runner !!! Love IT !!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.