Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Needle breaking with fmq..weird hollow pop sound..and a bit o' whine... >

Needle breaking with fmq..weird hollow pop sound..and a bit o' whine...

Needle breaking with fmq..weird hollow pop sound..and a bit o' whine...

Old 09-14-2011, 05:10 PM

Hi all,
Well, now that the ratty bird nesting seems to be gone, I am having trouble with my needle breaking during my fmq...I started with Schmetz 80, then went to Klasse' 80, on to Klasse' 90, and finally back to the Schmetz 80...yep, 3 broken, finished the project with the 4th one still intact...I am fairly new to fmq...and very new with my new Brother PQ1500 machine. I was running the machine pretty slow, and thought I wasn't pulling on the quilt either...actually my stitches seemed too small..like machine too fast for speed I was moving the quilt...any ideas? What size needle do you all mainly use? This machine does not have speed control, so I have to try and regulate that with my foot pedal only, where my other machine has 3 speeds...I think I am going to order a speed control for it, but before I do, am wondering if it would be worth ordering one with a stitch regulator?? Hmmm...I just want to be able to fmq so badly...and I really feel like I have been practicing quite a bit, but I am sure it is not enough...thanks for ya'll's help, and listening to my bit o' whine... :wink:
K
Old 09-14-2011, 05:23 PM

I have the Brother 1500, for free motion I use a 14, think that might be 90/14?? You need one with a sharp point , like universal, or quilting machine needle. What brand are you using?
Old 09-14-2011, 05:23 PM