Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 68

Thread: Opinion on quilt back color and value

  1. #1
    Member ErikaMarie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    5

    Opinion on quilt back color and value

    Hello - my first post, so be kind as I'm sure everyone on this board always is.

    I've made several quilts in my life, but am still a novice. I have just finished an oversized king top. If any of you are on Pinterest, you've seen the beautiful zigzag rail fence quilt from Red Pepper quilts. http://www.redpepperquilts.com/2011/...new-quilt.html

    I pretty much copied the quilt because my husband and I fell in love w it. Hubby wants an orange, solid background. My question, with so much white, will quilting on a solid background produce and odd, unintended effects? Pinholes? Dark showing through to the front? I don't really want a white back. Opinions and technical reasons to go with a light versus medium - dark back please! Here's the full quilt on the bed.

    Thank you in advance.
    Erika
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ErikaMarie; 09-07-2013 at 09:16 AM.

  2. #2
    Member ErikaMarie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    5
    Here's a closer look.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ErikaMarie; 09-07-2013 at 09:16 AM.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    1,620
    Your colors POP!!!! I love it.2 pictures came thru. Can not help with the quilting as I hand quilt or send it to a lA to be done. Hugs and Welcome from Baton Rouge, Louisiana

  4. #4
    Super Member charsuewilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1,203
    If he wants an orange solid back, maybe he'll go for a mottled orange back. That will help hide the stitching on the back. I prefer to have darker colors on the back, meaning anything darker than white. I want something where some dirt won't show. So, I also do not like too much white on the top of a quilt, nor on borders or binding. Even Cream is a little light for the outer borders, backing, and binding as far as I'm concerned.

    Orange should work fine for the backing. You may be able to use an orange varigated thread on the top, and the same or solid orange thread on the bobbin for the quilting.

  5. #5
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    6,169
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm not sure I'm understanding your question. You want to know if using an orange backing for the quilt will show through to the front? Are you not planning on using batting in between?

    I wouldn't worry about pinholes. Those will disappear when you wash it.

  6. #6
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,954
    Blog Entries
    1
    A lot depends on the batting you choose. Some battings will allow backing color to shade through; other battings are totally opaque.

    Warm and Natural will probably not allow an orange backing to influence the top at all; however, compared to other battings it is somewhat heavy and stiff in drape (the stiffness does soften with each washing since this batting is primarily cotton).

    Hobbs PolyDown would be a good batting for this quilt because it is light in weight and offers a lot of softness and loft. However, it would probably allow a bright orange backing to shadow through to the top.

  7. #7
    Super Member crafty pat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Live Oak, Texas
    Posts
    5,731
    Your top is so beautiful. I am not sure I would trust the orange not to show through the white.

  8. #8
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    29,922
    ​I would wash the backing to make sure it is color fast. If it is, I would go with orange on the back but quilt it with white thread on top and in the bottom bobbin. The white on the orange would make it reversible if you wanted as the quilting design would show up well. Beautiful top!

  9. #9
    Power Poster alikat110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waco, Texas
    Posts
    15,217
    Blog Entries
    9
    Makes me think of ribbon candy. Delicious!!!!

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,702
    I really love your colors!! I'm too much of a novice to help you with advice, but I'm reading along for the expertise of others. If I thought there were no chance of orange showing through ,and hubby requested it, I'd honor him with that. But if the back color would influence it somehow, I'd gently explain that to him and suggest something suitable. It's too much hard work with white on top to get muddied by a dark color. But as I said, I just don't know.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    539
    That's so adorable! I might copy your idea. Rail fences are quick and easy, yet I forget how lovely they are until I see one like this!

    If it was me, I'd go with an orange print that's primarily orange with a little white in it. Then I'd use white thread to quilt it. I'd use white batting and I'd wash the backing fabric before quilting if there's much dark orange in it.

  12. #12
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,882
    Your quilt is beautiful! I use Warm & White or Warm & Natural and have never had a problem, with the back showing through to the front. I would use a neutral thread, on both front and back.
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  13. #13
    Super Member bjsmith57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1,260
    Very, very nice - - thanks for sharing!
    bjsmith57

  14. #14
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    dallas tx.
    Posts
    4,589
    Blog Entries
    3
    I love your quilt. It is beautiful. You are very good.

  15. #15
    Senior Member KerryK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Heart of Dixie, Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    960
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Nilla View Post
    That's so adorable! I might copy your idea. Rail fences are quick and easy, yet I forget how lovely they are until I see one like this!

    If it was me, I'd go with an orange print that's primarily orange with a little white in it. Then I'd use white thread to quilt it. I'd use white batting and I'd wash the backing fabric before quilting if there's much dark orange in it.
    I like Nilla's idea, too - orange with white in it. Or, you could always piece the back with leftovers from the front, if you have enough fabric. Wide horizontal stripes would be striking. Whatever you decide, your quilt is gorgeous. Makes me want to do one like it ... but then, every one I see that I like, I want to do it, too! So little time to indulge! Let us know your decision.
    Kerry
    ~ American by birth, Southern by the grace of God ~

  16. #16
    Super Member CherryPie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    OKC, OK
    Posts
    1,032
    Welcome to the board....love your quilt. Since your DH would like orange either get what was suggested above or get an orange blender. I did a quilt with the orange blender as a backing and it worked out great. I also used orange variegated thread to quilt it with. You'll have to let us see your finished quilt. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
    There is a very fine line between hobby and mental illness. - Dave Barry

  17. #17
    Super Member quilter2theend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    1,045
    A light tan or beige for backing fabric? Just a thought

  18. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2,640
    Welcome to the board and that is a beautiful quilt.

  19. #19
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    Posts
    12,430
    I love your quilt! I've never had a problem with the backing showing through to the front when good batting is used.

  20. #20
    Super Member piepatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,929
    Not sure I would put a solid orange fabric on the back, for fear of it shadowing, or showing through, but possibly with Warm and White batting, it would be ok. I would take it to a quilt shop and audition some fabrics, and also ask opinions of the people there. I think your quilt is very pretty and cheerful, and you did a really nice job!

  21. #21
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2,620
    I LOVE this quilt!!

  22. #22
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    9,714
    Blog Entries
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by Tartan View Post
    ​I would wash the backing to make sure it is color fast. If it is, I would go with orange on the back but quilt it with white thread on top and in the bottom bobbin. The white on the orange would make it reversible if you wanted as the quilting design would show up well. Beautiful top!
    Yes, My thoughts exactly. I would love to see an orange back w/ white thread. Juicy!
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  23. #23
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    2,071
    Are you going to quilt it yourself? As for me, I like to use at least a mottled color as someone else suggested because I don't want my FMQ on my Pfaff to show up so much. At the least I would do a practice piece using the backing and batting that you plan to use, along with a leftover block. I always end up making several of these as I audition the quilting design I want to use and the batting. Your quilt is beautiful. I understand your wish to use DH ideas.

  24. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    125
    With all that white in your beautiful quilt, make sure you use a white cotton batting. I have had good luck with Warm and White. I too would suggest a mottled orange back for a little interest. Can't wait to see it when it is finished.

  25. #25
    Reb
    Reb is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    206
    I'm not sure how this would look without auditioning it. Perhaps an orange binding with your choice for backing?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.