Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Opinions

  1. #1
    Senior Member nikki128's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bellmore, NY
    Posts
    515
    Hi -

    I was hoping to get some opinions. I am about to make my first product to sell on etsy. I have included pictures of the stitching I'm thinking of using as my quilt stitch. Do you all think this would work well or have other opinions????

    Thank you so much !
    Nikki

    top of runner
    Name:  Attachment-273680.jpe
Views: 18
Size:  52.9 KB

    This will be the back of a reversible runner
    Name:  Attachment-273681.jpe
Views: 19
Size:  57.1 KB

  2. #2
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,846
    Blog Entries
    45
    sorry, i can't really tell what the stitch is in those pics

  3. #3
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    15,265
    Blog Entries
    1
    I would use the outline of the leaves instead OR the outline of the pumpkins.

  4. #4
    Senior Member nikki128's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bellmore, NY
    Posts
    515
    Thanks for the suggestion MadQuilter. I thought of that but am very nervous I'll screw up.

  5. #5
    Super Member starshine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,984
    Quote Originally Posted by MadQuilter
    I would use the outline of the leaves instead OR the outline of the pumpkins.
    this is probably a good way to do it.
    I like your fabrics

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Posts
    375
    I'm in aggreement with outlining the leaves and/or pumpkins.

  7. #7
    Senior Member nikki128's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bellmore, NY
    Posts
    515
    thank you all for your advice. Back to the drawing board. I am just not advanced enough to outline. Every time I try stitches skip. I may end up just meandering.

  8. #8
    Senior Member nikki128's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bellmore, NY
    Posts
    515
    Any tips for outlining? Feed dogs up or down? quilting foot or straight stitch foot?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Posts
    375
    Not know the machine you are working on I would guess feed dogs down and quilting foot in place. Then practice on a scrap piece of fabric/batting/backing and then start out slow. Find the pace that works well for you and your machine. Have fun scattering leaves and pumpkins of all shapes over your scrap piece of fabric and then stipple in between. Free motion quilting can be so fun or agrrevating - as all things it takes practice. I have to say I did see your stitching which was nice but stepping out of a comfortable stitch to a more challenging one is what this passion of ours is all about. Let your artist side shine and have fun. Love your fabrics, fall is in the air.

  10. #10
    Senior Member nikki128's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bellmore, NY
    Posts
    515
    Covered in Threads .... thank you so much for your advice. I was just free motion quilting pumpkins and swirls over a scrap piece. I think I am going to go for that look. The outlining is to stressful. I am about to sandwich my runner and rock out going at my pace and being free. I will post pictures of the finished product.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Posts
    375
    Would love to see the finished product. Have fun with it is the key.

  12. #12
    Senior Member nikki128's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bellmore, NY
    Posts
    515
    One day I will work on outline stitching. One small step at a time.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Posts
    375
    Good luck and don't forget to post the finished product. All of us get inspired by others.

  14. #14
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,194
    Blog Entries
    1
    if using a walking foot- you need the feed dogs up-working- if you are using a free motion (hopping foot) you have the feed dogs down (not working)
    prehaps you could just choose a different decorative stitch that does not conflict with your fabrics. machines with decorative stitches usually have many to choose from- put together a (practice sandwich) with some of the fabric you plan to use- and try out a few different stitches on it- then decide which looks best to you. the one you have just conflicts.

  15. #15
    Senior Member tsnana2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    455
    Quote Originally Posted by Covered in Threads
    Would love to see the finished product. Have fun with it is the key.
    Yes post pics when you are done. I would love to see them!

    :thumbup:

  16. #16
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    9,666
    Blog Entries
    31
    Since the fabric is busy, the quilt doesn't need any fancy stitching, it just gets lost. Keep it simple and let the quilt speak on this one rather than the quilting. I like the idea of echoing the leaves. :thumbup:
    peace

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.