Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 4 5
Results 101 to 122 of 122

Thread: Opinions wanted ...help!!

  1. #101
    Power Poster ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    10,480
    Blog Entries
    31
    like the way the blocks work together with out sashing. The movement would be stopped if you add it. If you do decide to do sashing i would not use white but one of the colors in the quilt. Love the look of this.
    peace
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  2. #102
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,449
    Blog Entries
    20
    I would audition different colors of sashing, including black. Then I would decide...
    Sadiemae

  3. #103
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Posts
    83
    I love bold, bright, happy colors. I would place my blocks on different colored fabrics, walk away and look at them from a distance to see how they look with each color that you try. This usually helps me decide if I want sashing and which of the colors I like best. Make sure we see this when you finish it....
    Too much to quilt, not near enough time....

  4. #104
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Salem, NY
    Posts
    203
    I go with no white for sashing.........or no sashing at all. I love the color, not too bright busy for me.

  5. #105
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    southeast TX
    Posts
    147
    Blog Entries
    3
    I would sash them with yellow or a yellow print with small primary colored dots.
    "I can do all things in Him Who strengthens me."

  6. #106
    Super Member QuiltnLady1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,599
    I agree with feline Fanatic -- I would sash with something other than white. Black or navy would make them pop.
    QuiltnLady1

    When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

  7. #107
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    141
    One option might be to add a narrow border, then do a second border of piano keys using the fabrics in the quilt!

  8. #108
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    central Illinois
    Posts
    1,507
    Blog Entries
    1
    Like the sashing. Maybe different color though. Love these fabrics. As has been said, please post pics. We always like pics.
    sew1

  9. #109
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    460
    I think they should be sashed to but a darker blue color not white.
    Deb

  10. #110
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,134

    added other color options of sashing.... thanks for the opinions

    Have enjoyed the different opinions and auditioned the following:

    school bus orange, green dot, black, tangerine
    Attached Images Attached Images




  11. #111
    Super Member Havplenty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MO (the Show Me state)
    Posts
    2,980
    Blog Entries
    8
    ooooh the oranges and the lighter one celebrates the brights. definately not the black as it does nothing for the colors imho. i am just looking forward to seeing the finished product.
    My Quiltboard Blog
    ~Joy is what happens when we allow ourselves to recognize how good things really are..(Marianne Williamson)
    ~If you can't change your fate, change your attitude.(Amy Tan)
    ~As long as one keeps searching, the answers come.(Joan Baez)



  12. #112
    Super Member dublb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brady TX
    Posts
    6,420
    Ohhhh I love the black! What do ya like? Does haveing 'em on the computer help ya ta see 'em better. You are the one who needs ta be happy.
    Bev
    My initials are BB, so dublb is double B.

  13. #113
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Manteno, IL
    Posts
    1,615
    No taming....no sash!!! It's awesome!!!!

  14. #114
    Super Member mom-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,497
    Any of the colorful sashing options you pictured would work, but I still like it better without...just my personal preference...as it gives the secondary design that is lost when you add sashing.
    legendarycandles.com
    Just discovered I qualify for FABLE (Fabric Acquired Beyond Life Expectancy)

  15. #115
    Super Member katiebear1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    lexington ky
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by feline fanatic View Post
    I would sash them for the same reason nanaquilts44 states, to give my eyes someplace to rest. But I think I would audition different colors besides white for the sashing. Maybe even a very dark sash, like black or navy blue might make them pop more.
    Oooh, black would be really nice. May use a one and a half strip for the sashing. Then it would look kind of like a stained glass window

  16. #116
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    176
    I concur with others on the dark sashing, black is always my favorite. I would keep the sashing narrow, just enough so the eye can rest. Love the blocks.

  17. #117
    Super Member BrendaY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,845
    Blog Entries
    9
    I would like to see these blocks with a beautiful patterned, bright color fabric for the sashing... Your blocks are gorgeous, so don't be afraid to add more color to them.

  18. #118
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    66
    I wouldn't do sashing. I like how it teases the eye.

  19. #119
    Super Member Pat625's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    1,640
    I like it with out sahsing, but might not if I looked at it for a long period of time. I would use a dark sashing such as navy to seperate the blocks but not take away from them..Just love the fabrics!!

  20. #120
    Super Member PurplePassion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southern MN
    Posts
    2,635
    I like the black sashing .

  21. #121
    Super Member sew_Tracy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Standing in front of Walmart begging for fat quarters
    Posts
    1,054
    Blog Entries
    19
    Wow, I think either no sash or narrow, dark-colored sash. This is awesome! Oh, what about a compromise with crazy-quilt blanket stitching?

  22. #122
    Super Member dublb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brady TX
    Posts
    6,420
    AUQulter, what did ya decide on? We'd love ta see what ya came up with.
    Bev
    My initials are BB, so dublb is double B.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 4 5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.