Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 122

Thread: Opinions wanted ...help!!

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    2,863

    Question Opinions wanted ...help!!

    I have 26 of the 30 blocks for this quilt finished so I am posting 12 of them showing all 15 fabrics in the collection. These were 2 jelly rolls and a bundle of FQs I found last year at Tues Morning in clearance section- maybe the colors were too vivid for prior customers. Free Spirit April Showers Bring Sunflowers http://freespiritfabric.com/core-pag...php?gal_id=293


    I decided to whip out the Strip Tube Ruler and start cutting and make the Daniela Block following directions in the ruler packaging. Now the question - to sash or not to sash? All opinions and suggestions welcome... I pulled out Marcus Bros. White Lites but I also have Kona white.
    Attached Images Attached Images


  2. #2
    Super Member mcdaniel023's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    3,602
    Blog Entries
    3
    I like those blocks! If you want to tame them then sash. But, I kinda like them without.
    Happy Quilting.

  3. #3
    Super Member Nanaquilts44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    1,993
    Personally I would sash the blocks. My eye needs the separation so I can enjoy each block and not get confused with it all at once.

  4. #4
    Super Member feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    8,999
    I would sash them for the same reason nanaquilts44 states, to give my eyes someplace to rest. But I think I would audition different colors besides white for the sashing. Maybe even a very dark sash, like black or navy blue might make them pop more.

  5. #5
    Super Member ArtsyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canadian in Minnesota
    Posts
    2,321
    I would sash so that the swirly fabrics don't run into each other. Depending on what you're planning to use the quilt for, that would decide the color of the sashing. For a baby quilt I would use a light color and for an adult lap quilt I would use a dark color.

    Thanks for posting this - I just got a bunch of clearance jelly rolls at Tuesday Morning too and had been wondering what to do with them. I like your choice of blocks.
    A fabric stash is always missing that one fabric needed to finish the quilt on which you're working.

  6. #6
    Jim
    Jim is offline
    Super Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Bardstown, Kentucky
    Posts
    2,189
    Love the colors and the pattern...Great Job, I too would add a sashing...any shade from bright blue to navy
    A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort :lol:

  7. #7
    Senior Member SharonTheriault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Jackson, Georgia
    Posts
    714
    I think the white sashing takes away from the blocks. A dark sashing might work better. Personally I like it without the sashing. Quite the riot of color.
    Save the Earth!

    Itís the only planet with Chocolate.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bosque County, Texas
    Posts
    2,705
    I would sash with a blue that matches the brilliant dark blue in your squares. The white really turns me off.

  9. #9
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,615
    Love your blocks. I'd do the sashing in black (narrow) and use the scraps to make a prairie point edging at the border edges. It will play up the color and you have quite a bit of black in those scraps anyway. Please post when you're done - I'd love to see it finished!

  10. #10
    Super Member Stitchnripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mableton, GA
    Posts
    8,648
    Me personally, I love it without the sashing.

  11. #11
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    8,161
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think I like it better without the white. That way the blocks form a nice secondary pattern. It's bright and as you say probably not for everyone. But I think this quilt will be a real beauty.

  12. #12
    Super Member Bluelady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    1,930
    I would use sashing.

  13. #13
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,829
    I like them without sashing. The white just kind of blahs it. Maybe a brighter color would work if you really want sashing.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Near Joliet, Illinois
    Posts
    309
    Well...I am on the fence. I think I like it without the sashing.
    However....as others have suggested...a thin dark sashing might look better.
    Very nice work
    Vi

  15. #15
    Super Member Raggiemom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    3,604
    I like the bright colors, and the way they swirl into each other without sashing.
    Heather

  16. #16
    Super Member Becky Crafts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,560
    I really like the white sashing. It celebrates the bright colors & shows off the patterns in each block better. I like the brightness factor! It's a fun, happy quilt! :-)
    Live Simply, Love Generously, Care Deeply,Speak Kindly, Leave the rest to GOD

  17. #17
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    howell, Mi
    Posts
    2,343
    I like the quilt without the sashing, but sashing will frame the blocks and tame the bright swirly pattern. I didn't care for the white, but any of the other colors would look nice. I am partial to the lime green, but any of the other colors would look good too. I would have a hard time picking a color. The quilt is going to be very pretty.
    Sue

  18. #18
    Member michelled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    74
    I was given 100 crocheted grannie squares of all colors, solids and varigated and ended up crocheting a black border on each and then using black yarn to connect them. The black border around each color made it very dramatic and flattered every square, every colour. I'm voting with the others who are suggesting a very dark sashing separating the blocks.

  19. #19
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5,781
    I vote without it kind of give it a kaleidoscope kind of feel. I think sashing would take that away IMHO

  20. #20
    Super Member dublb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brady TX
    Posts
    5,956
    What a happy quilt this is gonna be! I'm thinkin' that the black sashing will really bring out the bright colors in your blocks. Why don't ya take some of 'em ta the LQS & audition different colors with 'em? You'll find out what you like & it'll be great!
    Bev
    My initials are BB, so dublb is double B.

  21. #21
    Senior Member Rubesgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tidewater Virginia
    Posts
    829
    Your blocks are gorgeous but the white sashing just seems to fade out the brilliance of the colors. I would definitely use sashing but in a black or dark color to bring out your fabulous fabrics and patterns. I can't wait to see the finished quilt!
    Wendy in VA

    If I had a dollar for every time I got distracted I wish I had some ice cream.

  22. #22
    Senior Member jollyquilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Co
    Posts
    845
    I like it without the sashing too, but if you do small black sashings would psrobably work best in my opinion. Love the quilt, wow
    Jo

  23. #23
    Super Member Vicki W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    2,064
    I would use a navy/dark blue or black sashing to accent your lovely bright blocks.
    Vicki W

  24. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Boca Raton, FL
    Posts
    93
    Definitely a dark sashing and not white. But the blocks without sashing hurts my eyes.

  25. #25
    Senior Member alisonquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Winston-Salem NC
    Posts
    659
    I am firmly in the dark sashing camp. Love it...post pics when you are done.

    Alison

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.