Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Planned "scrappy" quilt question? >

Planned "scrappy" quilt question?

Planned "scrappy" quilt question?

Old 01-26-2013, 09:44 AM

Default Planned "scrappy" quilt question?

After re-looking @ JennyPenny STUNNING Pulsar quilt I HAVE TO ASK !! How does one PLAN a beautiful scrappy quilt like this? Do you have to have a HUGH stash? How do you know you'll have enough fabric to finish it? My scrappy quilts are just that - scrappy! I cut all my pieces, put them in a paper bag, give em a good shake and what ever I pull out is what I sew next. Somebody! Please! splain it to me ???? Thanks! cause I want to make one of these...
Old 01-26-2013, 10:13 AM
Power Poster

Well I'm not an expert, but the ones that I've made and liked, (or seen and liked) had one or more of the following traits:
- Single color neutral sashing, especially black or white
- A single color element in the same place in all the blocks
- the scraps were sorted into general colors
- the scraps were sorted into lights and darks
- the scraps were sorted into neutrals and everything else.
I also prefer an actual pieced block as opposed to a crumb block.
Old 01-26-2013, 10:33 AM

I agree with Paperprincess, I've made some scrappy star quilts where all the points are the same color. Sometimes all of the sashing is the same color. Makes the scrappy quilt look more cohesive instead of helter skelter. Other times I've just done whatever, really depends on the block being used and the effect I want.
Old 01-26-2013, 10:58 AM

Controlled scrappy is one way I like to do scrappy quilts. You pick a color palette and use all your scraps in those groups. I also like one neutral to sort of bind it all together.
Old 01-26-2013, 11:20 AM

Scrappy quilts are my favourite. Having said that I do "controlled scrappy" and I am always pleased with the result. You can bring it altogether with border and sashing fabrics. Good luck with it and don't forget to show piccies of the end result.