Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Please Don't Use Dryer Sheets for String Quilting or Applique

Please Don't Use Dryer Sheets for String Quilting or Applique

I love string quilts. I commonly see folks posting thrifty tips about using used dryer sheets for applique or string quilting, but it's not a great idea. The chemicals and fragrances can cause allergy problems, and no one would ever think the trigger was Inside the quilt! This could cause unnecessary medical tests and treatments, and could even be life threatening. Unscented dryer sheets still contain other chemicals. If the quilt goes to someone with recent surgery an unexpected cough or sneeze could rupture stitches. Dryer sheets might not be a problem for you, but who gets the quilt after you? I'm a retired Nurse Practitioner, and have mild asthma. I wonder if the chemicals will degrade or discolor the fabrics as time goes on. I'd recommend using clean white sheets or lightweight interfacing for stabilizer instead.

Muslin is also a good foundation. Or lighter, ugly, fabric you'll never use.

Very good advice.
    Lynn

Blog Entries
    I always layer my backing and batting and then string piece on top of the layer. The block is quilted as I go.
    Got fabric?

I use pages from the phone book. (tear out before quilting, of course)
    Long arm quilting in Carmel, Indiana http://quiltcycle.blogspot.com/

Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho
    Blog Entries
    I can't believe we can get free advice from a medical professional!!!! This is the greatest board! You probably just helped quite a few people with your advice!
    "Be yourself...everyone else is taken."
    Strong people don't put others down...they build them up."