Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Please Help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3

    Please Help

    I had to replace my Cruise Control. I have a new quilt on and the first pass went fine. Now it is skipping stitches. I have tried everything! Rethread top & bottom, new needle, oil, adjust frame height etc...
    I put on scrap fabric and it sews fine, back on the quilt skipping stitches. I'm at my wits end! Any suggestions would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Super Member Kitsie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ridgefield WA
    Posts
    7,352
    Blog Entries
    41
    Perhaps call the repair person who replaced it, unless, of course, it was you! Then perhaps for support to the manufacturer. I wish you speedy success!
    http://s1248.photobucket.com/albums/hh485/KitsieH/
    Never regret growing older, its a privilege denied to many.
    Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.

    Kitsie

  3. #3
    Super Member quiltedsunshine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,272
    What kind of frame and machine do you have?

    One thing I see sometimes, that makes the machine skip stitches, is that the fabric is stretched too tightly on the frame. Try loosening the fabric a little.
    Annette in Utah

  4. #4
    Super Member quiltingshorttimer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    kansas
    Posts
    5,048
    Blog Entries
    37
    what kind of machine? on my Gammill, if it's truly skipping stitches there are needle holes and it's usually a timing or needle bar issue. It there aren't any holes but a long stitch, then it may be an encoder ring wearing and cracking. Do try loosening the roller so not so tight on the frame though.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3
    I have a Pfaff Grand Quilter on an Inspira Frame. I'm at a loss because it is sewing fine on scrap but skipping on the quilt. I installed the cruise control myself and it was working...

  6. #6
    Super Member Ariannaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    in the sticks of PA
    Posts
    1,877
    OMG I feel your pain, especially because when that happened to me it was the timing! I hated having to do something I knew nothing about. I hope for your sake that it is not the problem. Good luck with your project.
    Maria
    Always be true to yourself!

  7. #7
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    11,158
    Blog Entries
    2
    If you turn the cruise control off, do you have the same problem? Often skipped stitches are caused by having the quilt on the frame too tightly. Poke a finger up from under the sandwich. The quilt should be loose enough where you can grab it with your other hand.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  8. #8
    Super Member meanmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fairfield, OH
    Posts
    3,690
    Blog Entries
    1
    I don't know anything about a longarm. My longarmer was having trouble with one of my quilts. It kept skipping stitches on her. It was making her crazy. She finally figured out that it was one of the fabrics in the quilt. It only skipped on that particular fabric. It was fabric from the LQS. Hope you figure it out soon.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western n.c.
    Posts
    625
    Blog Entries
    1
    This is what I was thinking. Fabric too tight.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3
    Thanks I will be trying all your suggestions

  11. #11
    Power Poster sewbizgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    19,521
    This is aside from your question and I really am not trying to be ugly.... but when you post you need to be more specific in your title than “please help”. Many of us (most?) are not long armers and know nothing about long arm machines. You could have saved us all the trouble of opening this thread, had you worded your request “Please help with long arm problem.” Thank you.
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/sewbizgirl
    Boom 20 Album of Blocks I made to swap https://www.quiltingboard.com/member...bums19942.html
    "The reward of a thing well done is having done it." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northern IN
    Posts
    516
    What size needle are you using? Make sure the top is threaded correctly. And I will agree with not having the quilt too tight on the frame.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.