Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Please, please help me with a torn quilt!

Those of you that know me know I am just beginning to quilt, and am in the infantsey of teaching myself to sew. This is the quilt I spoke about a long time ago that my granny made for me some 48 years ago. Last night I had it on my lap while sitting in my wheelchair. I went to go across the room and the quilt got caught under the wheel and I heard what had to be the most sickening sound I EVER heard in my life. PLEASE help me fix this!!! I am about to go into a deep dark depression!
    David
    Attached Images Attached Images

Murray, Ky. Looking for a nice cushy pillow to rest my head on!
    Blog Entries
    Oh David that is aweful! I wish I could tell you how to fix it. I have a couple of quilts that my DGM made that need fixing but I have put them away until I have more experience. I am sure someone will be able to help you.

Blog Entries
    Oh I am so sorry!! The opnly suggestion I would have would be to pick out a couple fabric that might match and sandwhich them over the torn area. that looks like a pretty nasty tear! Cover up might just be the best idea.

Blog Entries
    Oh my!......Some one please help!

I would try to whip stitch it back together with matching thread.

Blog Entries
    So sorry...I hope you will be able to find a fix. I have Grandmother's Flower Garden that is old, and I haven't been brave enough to do anything yet.

First, Put it back together with hand stitching, don't try to make it right at this stage, just get it back together as best you can. Try to make it lie flat as you pull fabrics and batting together. The stitches you put in at this stage are for reinforcement.

Next, look for fabrics that come close.

First, whipstitch a patch on the back.