Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Presser Foot Pressure... >

Presser Foot Pressure...

Presser Foot Pressure...

Old 01-29-2013, 07:49 PM

Default Presser Foot Pressure...

I'm still fairly new to sewing, only have a few years under my belt and I recently got a new machine. My first machine was a Brother and I noticed every months I was subtly learning something new about sewing/stitching, the machine, etc. Switching to the Elna (I call her Shelby) I feel like I am learning to sew all over again, aside from the basics... but what it comes down to is that I have a long ways to go in learning all the nuances of Shelby and how she likes to sew.

I was recently sewing some basic squares, the size of accent pillows, and no matter how much I pinned around the edges, the fabric would shift. I never had the problem as bad as this on the Brother. I tried using the integrated walking foot, and it helped, but I shouldn't have to do that in general stitching. Then it dawned on me to loosen the presser foot pressure (wasn't able to do that with the Brother). That helped immensely.

So I guess my question is - does this sound right or normal in higher end machines? What do you all do to prevent fabric from shifting during sewing?

Thanks in advance for your help/advise/wisdom.
Old 01-29-2013, 08:17 PM
Power Poster

I love the adjustable foot pressure on my machine. It makes sense that different fabrics need different pressure. I dial my pressure down to 0 when I do free motion quilting.
Old 01-29-2013, 08:27 PM

My Husqvarna sets the pressure on its on, love that feature.
Old 01-29-2013, 08:31 PM
Power Poster

My Bernina 1230 does not have the ability to change the presser foot pressure. However, it feeds very evenly so I have never had a problem with shifting.