Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Question about starching

Blog Entries
    Hi, I fairly new to the board and I'm sure this question has been answered heaps of times but I'm not very good at navigating yet, so please be patient. I live in Perth, Western Australia and over here no-one seems to use starch the way you girls talk about it. Can you tell me if you just mean spray on starch or if you actually use real starch. I remember my Mum starching the collars of Dad's business shirts with some very gooey looking white mixture. I cant imagine that this is what you do.
    Love the board. Thanks in advance.

Craftygirl,

I use the spray starch - have both the regular and double starch - depends how stiff I want the fabric to be which I use. But there have been a few recipes for making your own starch that you put into a spray bottle that I will try soon!

You can use the "Search" link on the menu at the top to look for previous discussions.

Linda

I use spray on starch I use Mary Ellen's best press it is supposed to make ironing easier, smell wonderful, no flaking , non clogging, acid-free, leaves no residue, relaxes stubborn wrinkels, doesn't attract bugs (my favorite) makes fabric look new. (this is how it was sold to me. My has a lavendar scent.

Blog Entries
    I just use the cheapest heavy spray starch I can find. A light spray to add body, and I soak it when working with bias edges :D:D:D

Ask any kind of question here, there are tons here that are willing to help and answer.

Welcome to the board! Enjoy all the wonderful things you'll learn here.

Hi,