Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilt Labels >

Quilt Labels

Quilt Labels

Old 07-03-2019, 08:41 PM

Default Quilt Labels

I have been quilting since about 2000. I have made many quilts but never labeled them. So, I drug about 30 quilts of various sizes out of the attic and let them lay in my sewing room for the last month. Today I got most of them labeled. My inspiration for labeling was the BH Mystery Quilts as the last 4 (5?) are quilted and bound and finished. Now my question is...do you label every quilt, table runner, mug rug and such? How do you do it? I made quick printed labels about the quilt info with printable fabric then ironed on, then my label which is made by Kirsten sewn on. Curious, do you label every piece, what info do you provide? Wish I could do a QR code but what if that goes the way of the VCR?
Thanks for any input.
Kirsten
Old 07-03-2019, 08:48 PM

I don't know why but I have a very hard time labeling my quilts, it used to be that I journal all of them so unless it was a special occasion quilt then that was all I would do. Now I want to make a label for every one going forward, the only thing I would put on it would be the year the name of the pattern and my name. Don't know what else to add?
Old 07-04-2019, 12:01 AM
Administrator

i have always found adding labels to be annoying.
not the labels themselves.
i was just too lazy to hand-stitch them to the back of the finished quilt.
(i don't trust no-sew fusibles to stay put after more than a washing or two.)

it finally dawned on me to make triangular labels.
i had some printed on fabric at spoonflower.
others i have done on my embroidery unit.

they tuck nicely into the corner and are stitched down as i attach the binding.
Old 07-04-2019, 04:29 AM
Power Poster